We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon on Sea Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalon on Sea Guest House
Ranked #55 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed with 2 families and all the rooms on the ground floor were occupied by us, which was relaxing as the kids could easily walk from one room to the other. The rooms are spacious as well as the bathrooms. Our 3 wild boys enjoyed the plunch pool. Here we do not want to miss to thank Harald to give them the freedom as it was a bit noisy and wet! Thanks Harald! Breakfast is very good with cold cuts & eggs. Restaurants are in walking distance and whales can be seen right from the 1st floor!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    48
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Room and bathroom where clean. Breakfast was very good and we got offered bacon and eggs in all variances, fresh fruit salad, coffee and cereials. Location is very close to the city and you can view the whales in the bay from your breakfast table. Harald the owner of the place was super helpful and had always an open ear for all kind of enquiries and questions. Safe parking and safe rooms, so to sum it up, we had great 3 days at Hermanus and would come back next time again.
Roland

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Avalon was our second accommodation at our round trip. We had a very good experience here with a good and individual styled breakfast, friendly staff a very nice and helpful owner. Th location is quiet and just 5 minutes walking distance to the center. It is at the coastal road.
However we would recommend this place and would sleep there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julians S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We had the upstairs room and you cannot imagine a better view. One could be there all year long just waiting for the Whales to visit the bay. Great location, fantastic view, quality breakfast, very friendly hosts !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Goldmember_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posterholt, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

What a perfect location! In easy walking distance to the restaurants and bars. Great hospitality! When you visit Hermanus, stay at Avalon on Sea!
Greetings, Ruud and Marian Gommans, Posterholt, Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Lovely, well run, little guest house on the edge of Hermanus, just a short 15 minute walk into town & with stunning sea views.
The upstairs room has great views & a lovely balcony.
Hareld, the owner, will give you tips on where to eat etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank daveoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

It was our first time in Hermanus and we booked this guest house off the Internet, not knowing what to expect.....BUT, how pleasantly were we surprised. The guest house is very conveniently situated relative to the town centre, the owners are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very nice. Thanks to Sue and Harald, we had a very nice and relaxing stay in Hermanus - especially Old Year's eve....... This guest house can definitely be recommended!

Room Tip: The top room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.5 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#7 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#23 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 41 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#32 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon on Sea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon on Sea Guest House

Property: Avalon on Sea Guest House
Address: 1 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed Guesthouse, offering comfortable accommodation in Hermanus. Avalon on Sea is located directly on the sea front and is within easy walking distance from the centre of Hermanus with its fine restaurants, craft markets, shops and the world's only Whale Crier. Enjoy the "Park and Walk" life-style by leaving your car in the secure car park and walking the short distance to most of the attractions in Hermanus. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing