We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon on Sea Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalon on Sea Guest House
Ranked #55 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

We stayed for only one night at this guest house which was our first mistake !
Being April we knew it was not whale watching season so i decided to book only one night as i didn't think there would be much to do. How wrong i was...
I really liked Hermanus and would say 2-3 days would do it, and its surrounding areas, justice.

I booked this B&B using trip advisor and looking at each individual web sites and felt this looked good value for money and i wasn't mistaken.
Great location, and lovely hosts. I thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and would even say it was one of the best i had during the trip. Our rooms were on the ground floor and they were spacious and clean.
I would definately recommend this place to any of my friends, if not for the wonderful location, great value for money, but for the great hosts in Sue and Harald.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    48
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

We stayed in this lovely B&B mid December and had a wonderful time. The room was upstairs with its own balcony, everything very clean - AND we saw Whales right in front of the house.
Sue's breakfasts are beautiful and we received lots of advise regarding our trip further on. Thank you, we'll be back.

  • Liked — The friendlyness and comfort - and the Whales
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Heidi2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2008

We had been recommended this Bed and Breakfast and were not disappointed, the room was ample size and spotlessly clean. We had chosen the room with a sea view and it was lovely to lie in bed and be able to watch the whales in the bay. There was a balcony and had the weather been warmer we would have sat there for hours. It is only a five minute walk to the town centre along the coast road for an evening meal and it felt very safe to do this. A visit to Fusion restaurant is a must as the food is wonderful.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
157 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

A small guesthouse with only five rooms. Nicely decorated, very clean, excellent but quiet location. Just five minutes walk to supermarket and shops. Area save enough to walk at night. From the top floor room (room No. 1) magnificent sea view. The B&B is located right across the street from the Cliff walk. The hosts are lovely people who look after their guests in a friendly yet unobstrusive way. Next to room No. 5 is a kids room. This is a small room with two beds for the kids, but no bathroom. There is no connecting door between the kids' room and the parents room, thus when the kids are very small this might be a problem. Breakfast is very good, cooked to order warm breakfast plus a small buffet with cereals and fruits. Secure parking in the backyard. There is also a small pool with sun beds, table and chairs. We can highly recommend this B&B and will stay there again when in Hermanus.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraugast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martos, Spain
Level Contributor
667 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

We stayed here one night but could easily have stayed longer as Hermanus is a great place for a few days. Pleasant room, small pool at the back, not the biggest breakfast I have ever had but all in all highly recommended. We walked into town in 10 minutes and safe enough to walk back in the dark. We ate at the Bientang's Cave in the evening, one of the best locations in South Africa.

  • Liked — Clean & friendly
  • Disliked — Smallish breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AggiePirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

Located directly on the seafront at Hermanus and just a 5 minute walk from downtown (a long street), Avalon on Sea is a perfect location with secure guest parking.

Sue was very nice and extremely helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and different every day, with fresh breads, scones and muffins. She was also very helpful in making dinner reservations and suggestions as to what we could undertake while in the area.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The back room gets the afternoon sun and is VERY hot in the evening!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mucbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.5 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#7 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#23 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 41 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#32 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon on Sea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon on Sea Guest House

Property: Avalon on Sea Guest House
Address: 1 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed Guesthouse, offering comfortable accommodation in Hermanus. Avalon on Sea is located directly on the sea front and is within easy walking distance from the centre of Hermanus with its fine restaurants, craft markets, shops and the world's only Whale Crier. Enjoy the "Park and Walk" life-style by leaving your car in the secure car park and walking the short distance to most of the attractions in Hermanus. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing