We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Gum Country Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Gum Country Estate
Ranked #13 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

We did a lot of research before booking our hotels in SA and were charmed by all the reviews we read about Blue Gum. Sadly these reviews are out of date and the nice little touches (like homemade cakes in the afternoon and port and cheese waiting for you in your room) no longer exist here. We've since noticed it's not made it into the new Greenwood Guide and after a little more research it's being sold which explains the lack of love in the place.
Although it's a very pretty little place it feels very un-loved and it's dreadfully managed. We were booked in for 8days but left after 4. Difficult to find any staff when you want them, the food is a set menu and is very average - not the gourmet delight we were expecting. The pool area is quite nice but the pool is dirty and it's uncomfortable sunbathing with gardeners lying about the garden. There were never clean towels by the pool, several times we had to go and find staff who grudgingly went and got clean ones.
There was not one major thing that happened just a series of small incidences that started to make us uncomfortable so we packed our bags and left on New Years Eve determined not to see the New Year in, in such a depressing place.
There are plenty of lovely places to stay in SA but this is definitely not one of them.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DisapointedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi DisapointedLondon

Thank you for taking time to review Blue Gum Country Estate. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the poor service received on your visit.

However, in 3 years a lot has changed at Blue Gum. If you are ever in South Africa again I would love to invite you to Blue Gum to witness the changes first hand and experience the excellent service and quality product we always strive to offer our guests. Hopefully we can change your name to NotDisappointedLondon!

Thanks and Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    57
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
134
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

I have just returned from a two day visit to Blue Gum and could not recommend it highly enough. All the staff were delightful, they are all specifically trained by Blue Gum and have real pride for their work. They organised several excursions for us with a few hours notice - one being quad biking in the next door estate White Water Lodge which was brilliant. The owner took us through a game reserve which he is currently developing and then up into the hills - it is stunning and he was full of knowledge about the area.
The food at Blue Gum was another highlight, they do breakfast and dinner and you can request lunch or organise a picnic if you like for the middle of the day.

There is so much to do here you will not get bored!

  • Liked — It was spacious and so much better than I expected
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Hi Rose

Thank you for a fantastic Review! We at Blue Gum still aim to go of our way for our guests. The Stanford area in the Overberg has grown somewhat in the last 3 years since you were last here but it still remains as beautiful and picturesque as ever.

We still have a wealth of activities on offer from Whale Watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, quad biking, mountain biking and walking trails... the list goes on

We also have fabulous Wine Estates, Beer Tasting and food of the highest standard.

I urge you to return

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

The owner's of the Blue Gum are to be commended for encouraging the their staff to develop job skills and for encouraging their employees to take an active role in the management of the estate.

The lodge is in a country setting with animals on the premises, a walking trail, and is near a cheese-maker, wineries (we especially enjoyed the pinotage wine and the Skilpadvlei Winery), and is close to both whale watching and shark care diving.

The food at the Blue Gum, especially the dinner prepared by Patricia, was as good as any we have ever eaten, anywhere.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Eating the excellent food leads to unwanted weight gain.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stkrebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Hi Stkrebs

Thank you for the review. I am thrilled you enjoyed Blue Gum when you visited. We are still actively involved in the community and the development of skills. We encourage our staff to always better themselves, strive to be more and always give 100% in everything they do.

I hope you will return one day

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa :Blue Gum Country Estate
Date 26th. October 2007
A TripAdvisor Member, Rome Italy
Absolutly great and excellent staying.
Amazing furniture, rooms.
The three sisters are very very very kind, nice and helpfull.
I suggest this amazing b&b to all those who find an excellent service and enjoy staying in a relaxing and cosy atmosphere.
Thank you very much for all,
un grande ciao
Maurizia Picca

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chiccasub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Maurizia

Grazie mille! We are very glad you enjoyed your time in the Overberg area of Hermanus and Stanford. We hope that the next time you return to South Africa you will consider staying once again

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

We decided to get away for a long weekend break where we could be out in the countryside and the fresh air. Blue gum was recommended as an ideal short break that was also child friendly – which is important with a 2 year old!

Accomodation
We stayed in the elephant suite which was very nice and spacious. A large, comfortable bed, nice sitting area and everything well laid out. The best part of the room, however, was the view. A spectacular view of the valley below. Other reviews have mentioned noise from the road but we were not bothered – its not a busy road and it is a looonng way away. Other issues mentioned were the stained linen/towels. If they had taken time to read the literature in the room, they would realise that the hotel washes their laundry using the water from the area, which is a brown colour (from the high copper content, or something like that!). This was beyond their control. My biggest gripe was that there was no tv the whole weekend as they could not get their satellite fixed, which was disappointing but not a train smash.

Food
We had dinner, bed and breakfast included which was great. After putting junior down for the night, we were able to enjoy a sumptious 3 course dinner which was always tasty and fresh. The wine was very good and we always left dinner very happy. There were some games in the lounge area which we took to playing. I reminded my wife of my immense vocabulary when I beat her at Scrabble! All the meals are hard not to enjoy as the setting is so calm and peaceful that it only just serves to whet the appetite.

Service
We cannot fault the service. Louise and her crew were always helpful and polite, if not a little shy. They were not trained at hotel school but sourced locally so we cannot be too harsh on their capabilities. I’d rather they support the local community and should be supported for that. The best, however, was Remi who made sure we had everything we needed and then some. Nothing was a problem for him (and we can be quite demanding). He was the difference between average and exeptional. So, thank you Remi for everything.

Overall
Overall, Blue Gum is a wonderful little retreat that is perfect for a short stay to get away from the city. The setting is great with lots (or nothing) to do, depending on your mood. It is a small family hotel and as such does not have access to major resources which some people might expect from 5* hotels. On this basis, I have given them a 4* rating because, as nice as it was, it was just missing that something extra that you might come to expect from the top hotels of the world. However, don’t let that stop you from experiencing this lttle gem for yourselves.

  • Liked — Room with a view, food, atmosphere
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrolfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Hi Bgandm

Thank you for the great review, I am not even going to try and write as eloquently or as much as you. I am happy to see that you saw there was something special about Blue Gum. I also appreciate the constructive criticism you gave and we have endevoured to improve on those things you mentioned

We hope to see you again soon at Blue Gum Country Estate

Thanks and Kind Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2007

Being Blue Gum a 5-star establishment, we were disappointed. The towels were stained and old, and the room was really dirty. It wouldn't have bothered me if the place was a 3-star, but 5 stars it is definitely not.We checked out a day earlier and luckily the establishment we had booked after this one could accommodate us a night earlier.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huupies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi Huupies

Thank you for the review and although it was an awfully long time ago I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the bad service you received at Blue Gum. In the last 5 years since your review Blue Gum has gone through many changes and I am pleased to say that it is once again a family owned and family run establishment. We concentrate on providing quality service at all times and maintaining an extremely high level of room cleanliness.

If you are ever in South Africa again, please do consider returning to Blue Gum, we can guarantee that this time you will have an amazing experience.

Many thanks and Warm Regards

Anton
Owner and Manager of Blue Gum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

We stayed at Blue Gum for 2 nights. Our room, the Lion Suite, was enormous with free standing bath, double shower, fireplace, separate lounge area, separate dressing area all opening up onto a balcony overlooking the valley. There were however things that bothered us about the room. Our bath towels, face cloths and bath maths were all stained and not of the quality you would expect from a graded 5 star establishment. Our view accross the valley was nice, but there was quite a big road on the other side of the valley, so the sound of cars were constantly heard. Also, when we wanted to watch TV, with channels stated as being available, nothing was, and after waiting 1 hour for this to be fixed, only 1 channel was available. However, the pre-dinner drinks & fresh fruit in the room before dinner and the sherry nightcap after dinner were very nice touches. The main lodge itself is also very nice with a lovely dining room and breakfast room. Dinner was a set 3-course dinner with no choices, which did bother us a bit, but the food was excellent. The winelist was a bit on the short side. Seeing that Blue Gum is located in one of the winelands of SA, we expected a bit more of a variety on the winelist. All in all, the whole stay at Blue Gum was good, with service being good, food excellent, and beautiful room, but just not quite what you would expect of an establishment that is rated as 5 star and one of the Exclusive Getaways of SA. I would recommend this to people that do not mind the above and would like to experience a good establishment in the surrounds of Hermanus.

  • Liked — The massive room with all the amenities
  • Disliked — The stained towels, no choice in food courses, and the noise from the road
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Hi Mitxcoac

Wow! You have reviewed a lot of places and from reading them I can see you are an experienced and discerning traveler.

I really appreciate the feedback and constructive criticism you gave and I have tried to use your input as a blueprint for where we want to get to.

Blue Gum will never be a 5 star graded establishment as it is a family run guesthouse. 24 hour room service and all the extra luxuries that go along with a 5 star place are too difficult to implement at our rustic country retreat where the internet and satellite connection fails every few days and our food delivery takes a few days to arrive after we have ordered it. What we can offer is a luxury stay, with great food (albeit a set menu) and amazing, attentive service, that the average middle-class South African can afford.

In terms of the towels being stained, we do not have municipal water and all the water is pumped from our borehole which has very high iron content. It is not dirt, it is just an iron stain.

I do encourage you to return if you ever are in the area again, and I hope we can make it a pleasant stay once again.

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
17.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
17.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
17.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
15.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
21.3 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Kennedys Beach Villa
#5 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gum Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gum Country Estate

Property: Blue Gum Country Estate
Address: Stanford | R326, Hermanus 7210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Gum Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Gum Country Estate is hidden in the valley that ascends towards the small town of Stanford, just outside Hermanus. The estate is a working wine farm and developing vineyard. This magnificent 130 acre piece of paradise is perfect for those seeking an alternative route and destination to the garden route or a relaxing break from the city. The delightful estate, nestled among ancient Blue Gum trees, overlooks the leafy banks of the Klein Rivier and encourages guests to relax in tranquil beauty and endless luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Gum Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing