We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Milkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milkwood Lodge
Ranked #36 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Opwijk, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed again here in April for 1 night when we were touring again in the Cape. At the time that we were putting our tour together the kids had one wish: we want to go back to Linda because she is serving the best pancakes on earth at breakfast time.
And so we did. The large family room has a renewed bathroom with an excellent shower. The room is just excellent... and the view from the garden on the mountains is wonderful.
But after all it is Linda who is helping to make your stay in Hermanus a stay to remember: she looks for a restaurant which also the kids will enjoy and she also arranges the Tuktuk transporter to get you there...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear DeJ family - Thank you very much for the review - it is much appreciated. It was so nice to see your family again and I am happy that you could manage to fit in a second visit to Hermanus on this trip. I hope you have had a chance to try out the pancake recipe that I sent you and that each time you eat the pancakes that it will bring happy memories about South Africa to you. I hope to see you again on your future visits to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
57
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YORKSHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our stay at Milkwood Lodge was most enjoyable. We had a lovely room with plenty of space and it was nice and quiet. The service and breakfast is first class and really sets you up for the day.There is a lovely swimming pool in the garden and recliners to relax on when you just want to chill. The super beach nearby is also worth a visit and has a restaurant located adjacent to it. What made our stay though was the kindness and hospitality shown to us by the owner of Milkwood Lodge. Linda, thank you. Look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.. It is very encouraging to know that you you have enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Lodge. I am very lucky to have the support of good staff who has been with me for many years. Without them we would not be able to offer the service and standards at Milkwood Lodge. I look forward to another visit from yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very nice guesthouse near the beach. Excellent rooms with a very large bathroom. The staff is very friendly an the brakfest is excellent. Hermanus is a nice town with good restaurants and nice Shops!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yves J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanking for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated.
We hope to see you again on future visits to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at Milkwood for one night only, but had a lovely time at this establishment. The pool area is surrounded by the breathtaking mountains of Hermanus and we were situated only a stone's throw from the beach.

The breakfast was delicious and we especially enjoyed the pancakes.

Special thanks to our host Linda, who even posted some of our forgotten items back to us!

Well recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knot4Sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your response written in January. I don't often go onto the review site during season and now that it is quiet I have a chance to look at my reviews and respond.
It is encouraging to read your positive comments and I hope to see you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had very sunny days in the milkwood lodge. perfect breakfeast and friendly service staff. During the days we enjoyed the well staffed grill place and swimming pool closed our our lodge. Hiking from milkwood lodge to the clsed mountains is easy, and gives you a brillant over víew along the coast line.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our stay at Milkwood Lodge was tainted by the attack on our very docile, quiet little dog by the resident old maltese...3 times, the last as we were checking out - it traumatised our pet.
there was no apology forthcoming...maybe the owner felt if she apologised for her dog's attacks we would take it further....she was wrong. An apology was required.
Breakfast was good with fresh berries, except for the scrambled eggs which tasted synthetic. the room's bathroom washbasin sits way too high on the vanityslab and i could not use it with comfort. the room was spacious and the bed comfortable. the blinds knock against the window sill at night in the breeze. its disturbing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed at Milkwood Lodge for a week in December. Very large, clean and comfortable rooms, swimming pool on premises. Very pleasant environment, road noise negligible. Breakfasts were very good, always fresh fruit or fruit salad, various cereals & hot meal available. The owner, Linda is very hospitable & helpful. Grotto beach is a short walk away, the other beaches & town a short drive away. Altogether a very well run & pleasant B&B.

Room Tip: all rooms were nice, cottage is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.3 mi away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#21 of 87 in Hermanus
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whale Coast Villa
Whale Coast Villa
#56 of 87 in Hermanus
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Blu
Villa Blu
#20 of 87 in Hermanus
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
6.1 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Kennedys Beach Villa
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#12 of 87 in Hermanus
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Lodge

Property: Milkwood Lodge
Address: 152-154 Seventh Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milkwood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guesthouse offering B&B or self-catering within walking distance of two of the swimming beaches and seafront cliff path in Hermanus. Fully equipped luxury one bedroom cottage has two day beds in the lounge/living room for children. All rooms have private entrance and private patio with direct access into the garden. We cater for all dietary requirements, healthy, hearty and vegetarian options available. Secure off street parking, swimming pool and huge garden. Only 3 kms from the Hermanus Golf Club and 5 kms from the centre of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Milkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing