We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time to On the Cliff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
On the Cliff Guest House
Ranked #20 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We returned again to an exceptional place. we have travelled the world and it is not often we opt to go back to where we have been before. However the accommodation is first class and the hosts are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and we couldn't have wished for a better stay. The view is superb and the level of service is second to none. How could we not return??

Room Tip: The penthouse suite is well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

Our room was superb - very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Charmaine and Hilton make sure that all guests are treated as friends rather than customers, attending to every request promptly and precisely.
The breakfasts are filling, and need to be ordered the previous evening. The honesty bar is a very useful concept. The guest house is around 1 km from the town by road, but slightly longer by the adjacent coastal path which sticks to the clifftops. If we didn't want to walk, we ordered a tuk tuk taxi (65 rand return) and an unmissable experience.
The pool is not large, but great for soaking up the strong sun. Car parking is behing a secure gate and there is complimentary wifi.
Loved it!
Seeing whales from our bedroom balcony on two of the three mornings just crowned the experience.

Room Tip: Go for a superior rom on the first floor, better view of the bay and whales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had overseas visitors with us and stayed for two nights at On the Cliff guest house to watch the wales.
Our party was nine adults plus my two grandsons, aged five and three.
We were all very impressed by the B&B which was of a very high standard.
My five year old grandson was not as happy as the adults - he said it wasn't the best place because there was no chocolate on the pillow! There goes a reputation!
Charmaine, the owner, was very very helpful and friendly, and we really enjoyed our stay.
My only suggestion is that Charmaine should put out some cereals, fruit and yoghurt so that customers can help themselves at breakfast, instead of having to order the previous evening.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtunzini99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were very pleased when shown to our room. Room # 8 is a spacious 2 room suite. The large sitting room is a cozy place to watch tv or read. A cabinet offers everything for making coffee or tea. The bedroom has a king size comfy bed. Updated bathroom and tons of storage space. A large balcony faces the water for whale watching. The tuk tuk is a motorized scooter with 2 to 6 passengers for the short ride to the waterfront with lots of restaurants. Charmaine is warm and offers a lovely full breakfast of choices. There's a cozy sitting area downstairs for visiting with friends or using the wifi. An outdoor pool is just outside the door but it was unseasonably cold and windy during our visit. There are security gates with freedom to come and go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I spent 2 very comfortable nights at this perfectly situated guest house. The hosts could not have been more helpful or welcoming.

My room was extremely spacious and very clean, and I found the bed very comfortable. My room was on the lower level so it had a patio rather than a balcony. While it was much more than adequate and you could see out to the water, I would recommend a room with a balcony if one is available because of its superior views. If one isn't available though, I wouldn't hesitate to stay in one of the lower level rooms like mine. There is a balcony off one of the lounge areas where you could enjoy a drink and the view from that higher level if you wished.

Breakfast both mornings was very good. I especially liked the crepe-like pancakes I tried one of the mornings.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony if available for superior ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJDC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Charmaine (read charming) & Hylton (read helpful) own this magnificently located 'nest' on the cliff of the town of Hermanus ... and it was like staying with family this August during our 2 nights there!
BIG bedrooms, super clean bathrooms, comfortable bed and a view to die for from every room...
Secured & automated car parking in the backyard, a 3 minute drive along the coast to the town of Hermanus, a 60 second walk to the reserve on the cliff, a lover's bench on the cliff across the road. ...
Freshly squeezed orange juice awaited us every morning complemented by Charmaine's geniune hospitality ... go easy on dinner as the tasty, complete a la carte breakfast and divine tea selection deserves a hungry stomach.
We recommend that they add the phrase "dolphins and whales view" to their name - most apt and most certainly true!
We will come back someday ... and stay no where else!
Priya n Pancham

Room Tip: All rooms offer a great view - the ones on the upper level are divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pancham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Well located near famous Hermanus cliffpath, literally out the door! Safe and clean, great hosts.
5 minute walk to village centre with many good restaurants and pubs.
Rooms very big, with good linen and towels
Secure, spacious offstreet parking.

Room Tip: Sea facing for the superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.7 mi away
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
681 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#12 of 86 in Hermanus
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#22 of 86 in Hermanus
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#6 of 86 in Hermanus
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Cliff Guest House

Address: 42 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £68 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront luxury guest house with sea views from all rooms. Sauna, heated pool, pub, gym, guest lounges, bicycles and more. Situated with the cliff paths directly in front of the house and beautiful views of the whales in season from your room. Shark cage diving, whale viewing, diving, horse riding, fantastic beaches and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing