We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Cliff Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
On the Cliff Guest House
Ranked #19 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kapstadt
1 review
“Amazing location, wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Charmaine and Hilton are the most wonderful Hosts and the rooms are absolutely stunnning. From your bed you can watch the wales and you feel like you are in heaven. Not only in Whale seasopn, but it is also worth visiting this quaint seaside village at any time of the year. Ask Charmaine and Hilton to take you on one of their famous Safaris into the wild of Africa. They are the experts!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gelbschnabeltoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    64
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
168
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautiful place to stay & what amazing views. We did not get to walk around as much as we would have liked due to stormy weather & rain but enjoyed our stay none the less. We did see whales & sea lions.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casson-Gentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

What a truly magnificent Guest House located in the magnificent HERMANUS! Firstly, the level of service and attention to detail were of a very high calibre. Great location to discover the winelands and to top it off a short walk to town with plentiful supply of good restaurants, with a range to suit all. The views from the rooms and from the grounds are spectacular. Beautiful pool area. Suite was tasteful and luxurious. Wonderful hosts, beautiful accommodation, relaxing atmosphere!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anneke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have stayed at "On the cliff" 4 times between Jan and May 2014 that was 60% of all time stays here in Hermanus before we bought and also rented a house. I think the numbers speak for themselves 4 of 6 visits at the same place tells the tale. The other 2 visits being 1 and 3 then back to On the cliff. We have been house hunting in the Hermanus area for about 4 months and to accommodate property visits we would invariable stay over night or up to 2 nights. This is a very attractive place and the décor is relaxing. The owners are very charming and friendly the food was well catered and the atmosphere very comfortable. The location is superb and views are all one could hope for. We are seniors and a porter would have been helpful re: the luggage but the owners were quite willing to help out with that also. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with large modern bathing areas. There is a lovely little pool outside which we didn't use since it was getting a bit cold by then and we were house hunting! The honesty bar is sufficiently stocked for a bottle of wine or a night cap. if it is a bit chilly be sure and ask about the heating and they will put it on for you. The price is reasonable for the quality and service. If you want a very nice place to stay , relax and enjoy the view then don't hesitate it is more than one would expect for the price range and a much better value than several of the other guest houses in Hermanus.

Room Tip: Ask about the ocean view sides super vistas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Netscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you for a memorable stay, We willl definitely return! Excellent service & quality at a very reasonable price. We arrived just as winter started but the warm atmosphere made up for the winter chill!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janavongordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My visitor from Australia and I were all alone in this beautiful and interesting guest house. The lady who looked after our breakfast was most friendly and inviting, and served a breakfast par excellence. The manageress was very caring as to our entertainment, and made very good suggestions. My only critsism was the lack of security, especially being alone in a huge house, and the bedroom was rather cold. Otherwise I would gladly recommend them for a happy and comfortable stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We first visited Hermanus and On The Cliffs in 2007 and returning 7 years later we were just as thrilled. Returning to the B&B and given our same room was like returning home. Charmaine & Hylton are incredibly welcoming, warm and friendly and breakfast chats are the 'highlight' of the morning. It's wonderful when hosts engage with guests which often encourages fellow travellers in the breakfast room to join in on absolutely delightful conversations. The location of the B&B is ideal to enjoy the cliffs and the paths and the sea views from your balcony never tire. The B&B is perfect for exploring the surrounding area or simply to unwind and relax. Hermanus and On The Cliffs is a true treasure. Thank you Charmaine & Hylton you will always remain in our hearts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.9 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#8 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#10 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#14 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Cliff Guest House

Property: On the Cliff Guest House
Address: 42 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront luxury guest house with sea views from all rooms. Sauna, heated pool, pub, gym, guest lounges, bicycles and more. Situated with the cliff paths directly in front of the house and beautiful views of the whales in season from your room. Shark cage diving, whale viewing, diving, horse riding, fantastic beaches and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your On the Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing