We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing host: Barry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Vue Guest House
Ranked #12 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Amazing host: Barry”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Spotless, beautiful guesthouse with a warm welcome and familiar atmosphere.
Apart from this location is great and the breakfast just amazingly delicious.
Will definitely come again. Best stay in Hermanus for sure

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uli_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    48
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
242
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Loved our two night stay here, had a very spacious room with a balcony and a great welcome from Barry and everyone else. Could not be more helpful with advice for our activities and served a really good breakfast in the morning. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We spent three nights in this guest house in a sea facing room with private balcony where we sipped wine and watched the sun setting. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and we had a lovely big bathroom too, complete with walk in shower. Barry the manager is very hospitable, fun and keen to ensure we had a good stay.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, lovely fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and muffins, fabulous bacon and eggs, but all without being over the top like in some places we stayed at.

There is a well stocked honesty bar and a communal lounge, although we didn't use it.

Don't be put off by the guest house being slightly out of the main town. It is dead opposite a fantastic cliff path walk which goes into town one way and the new harbour the other. If you would prefer to drive into town then it is 1-2 mins max depending on your car speed! And parking in town is dead easy. The walk to the new harbour is about 15 mins max and very safe, even at night provided you walk back along the road rather than the cliff top (not well lit). At the harbour are a few restaurants and bars with fantastic views and great food. The locals clearly use them well.

We would definitely stay at the Harbour Vue again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basilcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Sadly we only had a very short stay at Harbour House but will definatly return.The staff could not have been more helpful,We had beautiful rooms and shared a lounge with our friends.Before we left to play golf the following morning we were served a delicious breakfast with so much choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziemcd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLIHULL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

excellent guest house where Barry , the Manager, provides a quality service, great breakfasts, and all the help one could need. Great views from The Southern Right room. Very good value.
only minor downside was location which is a good walk from town necessitating taking the car.
A phone in room could also improve things. If in Hermanus again we would stay here

Room Tip: souther right is best as far as I know
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeandjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This is a beautiful guest house with a fantastic position on the water front at Hermanus. It's a scenic 10 minute walk into town along the coastal path which is well worth doing. Barry was a perfect host, he looked after us so well. The rooms are huge and have amazing sea views and the bathroom was enormous. The pool is small but has the sun all day and breakfast was outside on the terrace! We would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the front- the views are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syren
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We were 1 night at the harbour vue GH in Jan 2013 and every thing was perfect. The owner of the guesthouse and its staff with Barry in master of ceremony made our stay very nice and enjoyable.
We would not hesitate to stay there again if we would come back to Hermanus.

Thx once more for the good say you provide us.
Olivier

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Vue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Vue Guest House

Property: Harbour Vue Guest House
Address: 84 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Vue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay and the new harbour in Hermanus, Harbour Vue Guest House offers superb 4 star luxury accommodation for business or leisure. The suites are tastefully and individually decorated with high quality finishes, each with en-suite bathrooms. Views are simply spectacular. Relax on the balcony while sipping a sundowner ... life doesn't get better than this. From the Neptune, Fynbos and Southern Rights you can lie in bed and watch the Southern Right Whales at play in the bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour Vue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing