We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the best stay ever in Hermanus. It was excellent!!!!”
Review of Auberge Provence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Provence
Ranked #2 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We felt welcome from tme moment we entered this 5star-guesthouse! We were spoiled and felt very special! Thank you for the excellent service and relaxing atmosphere! We enjoyed every moment in the beautiful suite!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eloise and Mieke Potgieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have just returned from 5 days at Auberge Provence - not long enough! A comfortable, spacious and supremely elegant guest house in a unique location on the coastal path of Hermanus, where we were provided with every comfort you could need, and more. We stayed in the Lavender Suite which is gorgeous, with a huge bathroom, its own plunge pool (albeit not heated) and has views directly onto Walker Bay, beyond the fynbos. We were able to watch whales while having our morning coffee on our private veranda - just heaven! Belinda went out of her way to take care of us, and the staff were so friendly and helpful, including delicious breakfasts that kept us going most of the day. When I return to Hermanus (which I certainly will), I'll have no hesitation in staying at Auberge Provence; it is undoubtedly the best guest house I have stayed at in Hermanus. Two suggestions: if you already know Hermanus and have an idea where you would like to eat, let Belinda know in advance so that she does not book reservations for you. Secondly, the whale watching boat trip was a bit of a disappointment; the best viewing is at De Kelders, just beyond Hermanus, where the whales come right into the bay.

Room Tip: The Lavender Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have just had two of the most sublime nights at Auberge Provence.

From the outset, we knew we had stumbled across a unique & special guest house - Belinda went out of her way to reply to our emails and questions with such speed but with equal measures of care, kindness and detail (even going so far as to make our shark diving & whale watching tour arrangements for us, with fantastic recommendations)

As soon as we arrived, we knew our initial impression was correct - the Auberge is stunning and has THE best view and vantage point being directly on the cliff side walk and therefore (what feels like) a stones throw to being in front of the whales (which we saw as soon as we walked on to our balcony and every day after that!)

Nothing is ever too much trouble for Belinda & her team - when we arrived, Belinda had arranged tables for dinner (her choice of restaurants were spot on), whale watching tours and the room was exactly as she had described it to me - utter perfection (and very authentic French with beautiful high beamed ceilings - we were in the Fynbos suite which gives incredible uninterrupted views)

Belinda's breakfast is OUT OF THIS WORLD, not only did she seem to know exactly what we desired each morning, but her omlette is something else & one of the best we've ever had - seriously, you MUST have this...totally delicious (and very fillings - as Belinda predicted, we didnt need to eat again until dinner time haha!)

Having stayed in other guest houses / hotels in Hermanus we can not recommend the Auberge Provence highly enough - we had the most remarkable time here, and have very such special memories, all thanks to Belinda and her phenomenal team.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, but if you can and want uninterrupted views of the sea & whales, go for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gashton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had been to Hermanus a few times in the past staying in a guest house nearby but across the road, so much further back from the sea. This was in a different league. It's a bit like staying in a hacienda and the pool looks so inviting as soon as you enter the courtyard. But it's the sight of the whales so close that makes it so special - we literally saw one breach just yards away the moment we walked out onto the verandah. Upstairs we had taken three rooms - each with a balcony where we could sit out and watch so many whales - but the rooms are so brilliantly arranged we could even see them from lying in bed.
Belinda is a really kind host and couldn't have done more. She had booked restaurants for dinner before we had even arrived - and actually chosen the ones we liked the best from last year's visits. She was sympathetic to our desire to get into our rooms as soon as we could as we had gone there straight from the overnight flight from London to Cape Town, and yet she was determined the best standards should be kept up. The staff are all as helpful as can be and the breakfast is delicious - and what a lovely idea to serve afternoon tea and cake in your room.
The rooms are so comfortable, the place is spotless and it's clearly run efficiently but there is a real warmth here. We will certainly return. It is just wonderful to be able to go straight from the house on to the cliff walk.

Room Tip: The more expensive luxury suites are downstairs but the three rooms on the first floor all have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherPimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Auberge Provence (Lavender Suite). It was perfect. It's a nice 10 minute walk from down town, which worked well since we didn't have a car. The room is comfortable, spacious, and quiet. The breakfast is tasty. Belinda took care of dinner and whale watching reservations for us and was available to answer all our questions. We're not big B&B fans, so we were a bit nervous about staying there. However, it was such a nice and pleasant experience that we plan to stay there again when next visiting Hermans.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Does Belinda commune with the Whales in Hermanus? I think she does! She told us we would see the whales from our balcony and we did! Spectacular sea view and a rainbow across the waves, while sipping earl grey and enjoying her famous carrot cake, it couldn't have been more perfect. Excellent service with a weather report supplied each evening for the following days. Belinda recommend local restaurants and made our reservations as well as booking our whale boat trip. We were pampered Provence patrons in our stunning suite. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. There's a quiet and fragrant ambience to Auberge Provence created by Belinda and her staff, we loved it. We have no hesitation in recommending Auberge Provence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Our three night stay in Auberge Provence was a mind blowing experience. Our visit co-insided with the annual local whale and arts festival. The warm and professional hospitality of our host and personnel and the sumptuous breakfasts made the experience that much more wonderful. Add to this a suite with a beautiful bath room facing the sea, waking up to waves crashing on the rocks and with the fresh smell of the sea breeze filling the room. What more can a visitor to Hemanus want?

Room Tip: Sea facing is the ultimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanCrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
2.0 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#12 of 86 in Hermanus
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Provence

Address: 25 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £135 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge Provence 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the cliffs, overlooking the whale watcher’s paradise of Walker Bay is an intimate French Provencal retreat.Built around a romantic central courtyard, with a cool charcoal and travertine pool, you can enjoy sumptuous breakfasts under a grapevined terrace, on the seafront or opposite the fireplace in the stylish dining room. For a romantic getaway choose a suite with your own Jacuzzi or plunge pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing