We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent set up of Auberge Provence”
Review of Auberge Provence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Provence
Ranked #3 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magnificent set up of Auberge Provence”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

First, is the view from the bedroom window-the fantastic panorama of the sea,and the bay surrounding Hermanus. You feel you could virtually stretch out and touch the sea.
Follow this with the wonderful care and attention given by Belinda and her team-always, gracious, helpful and smiling.
The facilities, decor and furnishings are simple, tasteful,(yes, say it) exquisite.
Our breakfast, and the manner in which they were served, was our first treat of the day.

Finally, the exterior,. is less impressive perhaps, but one could not guess the treasures in store
The Smiths, , Scotland.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    52
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
86
339
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The food, accommodation and view were all lovely. And the staff let you know from the very beginning they will attend to your every need and make sure they keep their promise on that. It was a fantastic weekend and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were impressed by the quality of everything involved with this accommodation. The rooms are luxurious and well appointed, the beds very comfortable and the sea view wonderful. The sitting room is warm feeling and comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent and cooked to order. Our hostess was very considerate and helpful, and even booked restaurants for us prior to our arrival. The ambiance and decor is very inviting, and combined with the comfort and level of service, makes this a top destination to live in luxury while on vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left it was a 5 star experience. Good and friendly staff. The breakfast's were lovely, and made to our individual requirements. We were caught in a heavy rainstorm and returned to the Auberge soaked through. The staff were happy to take our wet clothes and tumble dry them, and even ironed them with no charge and no fuss.
Our room was spacious and spotless, with a wonderful view out over the Ocean. And the bathroom was as good as any 5star Hotel I have ever stayed in. The Auberge is well located just a short walk from the Town Centre. We would come back.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with an Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wamajht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have been there for a few day. It was a wonderful stay. Very nice service, breakfast and rooms. The Auberge is a wonderful place to stay and relax. Beautiful view, very scenic. Very good restaurants close to the Auberge.

Room Tip: Beach side room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Hermanus is not a tiny seaside village, but it does have so much to offer as we discovered over five days. We could not have been happier at our decision to come to the Auberge. Our room was very spacious and light. My wife adored our bathroom. The staff kept everything immaculate, and gave us a delicious breakfast every day--and afternoon tea !
Belinda, who is in charge made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. She booked all our restaurants in advance.Essential in the High season ,and she chose well.
This is quite a smart establishment. Might not suit those looking for something cosy and scruffy, but for us it was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muir55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Whilst the property is well situated, clean & spacious, and the staff is very professional, the overall offering is not up to a 5-star promise. The ambience is cool and clinical. Apart from elements of the architecture, there is not much of "Provence" on offer. e.g. The "French" Windows are three-quarter, so you don't really get the full benefit of sea vistas, the background music seemed like an endless stream of supermarket classics, the croissants cold and everything was so hushed, you felt almost afraid to speak louder than a whisper.
This would all be more bearable, had the price tag not been totally out of sync.
We left feeling that we'd rather have booked at the Harbour House - same price, better value and better location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
We thank you for your review and your positive comments on our property’s location, cleanliness and spaciousness and the professionalism of our staff.

However, we were rather surprised and disappointed at the negative comments and your sentiment that you believe we are not a five star offering, since your review in our Visitors Book on 8 January 2013, on your departure, had only positive comments in that you thought we were very well run with nice decor and good staff. We sincerely regret that you did not bring any of the negative comments you listed on Trip Advisor to the attention of our manager during your four day stay with us, especially in light of the fact that the manager makes it a priority to ask guests every day if everything is to their liking. We would have much preferred to address your concerns/complaints while you were with us, in order to make your stay more pleasurable. It is, and remains our mission, not to only meet expectations, but to exceed them.

We do not believe our ambience is cold and clinical as we pride ourselves on creating a homely, friendly, relaxing yet professional atmosphere, complimented by delicious breakfasts and staff who are willing to meet every need. We are truly sorry it was not your experience with us and once again could only wish that you had brought it to our attention.

In terms of your comments about our French/ Provencal windows, we would like to point out that they are in fact authentic Provencal in architectural design and do offer superb sea views. Your feeling that you would have rather booked at the Harbour House, an equally beautiful establishment, we would understand if it had been your preference to stay in town across the road from the sea, as opposed to staying at our establishment which is 800 meters out of town on the sea side of the road. It is interesting to note that Harbour House Manor House’s windows are also not full length and in addition have cottage pane glass, whereas our windows have clear glass.

In closing, we take all valid criticism constructively and strive to improve the experience we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
910 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Provence

Property: Auberge Provence
Address: 25 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge Provence 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the cliffs, overlooking the whale watcher’s paradise of Walker Bay is an intimate French Provencal retreat.Built around a romantic central courtyard, with a cool charcoal and travertine pool, you can enjoy sumptuous breakfasts under a grapevined terrace, on the seafront or opposite the fireplace in the stylish dining room. For a romantic getaway choose a suite with your own Jacuzzi or plunge pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing