We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge Provence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Provence
Ranked #4 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

While we only stayed for a night, Hazel made us feel very welcome. Beautiful room with great view. Breakfast was excellent. very good advice on nearby amenities. Hazel is a very lovely, friendly, attentive host

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistergreen1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on the beatiful room and views. Thank you too for the compliments on the breakfast and also the special mention of Hazel's attentive and friendly service. It gives us great pleasure to meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We hope you will return for a longer stay on your next visit to Hermanus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    52
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
330
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malindi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Superb location with exceptional service!! Every detail has been thought of and the personalised service is incomparable. Thank you to such a wonderful team who hosted us during our stay. Breakfast was perfect, not to mention the astounding views and the high tea was an absolute treat. We look forward to returning with the rest of our family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the beautiful location and the attentive service from our staff. We really enjoy going the extra mile to make our guests' stay a truly memorable one. Thank you for the positive comments on the breakfasts and the views and of course we are delighted that you enjoyed our high tea. We expanded this complimentary service just recently and are so glad it is being well received. We look forward to welcoming you back with your family. Please remember to book directly with us for special rates for returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms overlooking the sea have a fabulous view across the cliff top walk and the bay. The Harbour room even has windows looking in two different directions. The staff could not have been more helpful and the breakfast was super. Downside was that wifi only works in the main lounge.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review and the positive comments on the views, the staff and the breakfasts.
We are presently boosting our wifi signal so that it reaches all the rooms. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a stunning place, we had a beautiful room overlooking the sea. Management welcomed us with a birthday card for my daughter, and even extended high tea in order to accommodate us. This was extremely thoughtful,and highly appreciated. All staff was friendly and very helpful in organizing restaurant bookings, to turning the beds in the evening. No request was too much, the Manager's motto is, " nothing is impossible". Breakfast was a set menu, but on request even made my daughter flapjacks. It was everything you can expect from a 5 star establishment. I can highly recommed this establishment. You made my daughter's birthday unforgetable, we will be back.

Room Tip: Fynbos Suite had a very bad smell, apparently from a septic tank, not sure if it is the same in othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review on Auberge Provence, our manager and staff. It is very encouraging to get such positive feedback and we were delighted to make your stay and your daughter's birthday such a memorable one. It was a pleasure to extend high tea for you.
We are always happy to go the extra mile and accommodate our guests' requests. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have just come back from a two week trip to South Africa with my husband. Our first stop was a two night stay in Hermanus. We've been to Hermanus before but thought we've have a change of accommodation, we certainly were not disappointed! The Auberge Provence is a beautiful small guest house right on the ocean front and our room had the most fantastic views. We arrived early but luckily for us the room was ready for us to check into, Hazel settled us in and made us very welcome with a complimentery morning coffee and home made biscuits. The room was an excellent size as was the bathroom and the toiletries were plentiful and of a very good quality. Hazel had made us a reservation at a nearby restaurant for the day that we arrived and it was a very good meal, it was walking distance from the guest house so good not to have to drive. The breakfast was served the following morning by Sheila who was very informative about the local area and recommended a beach nearby for us to visit. I would highly recommend the Auberge Provence to anyone for a holiday in Hermanus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet12d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review. It is very pleasing to hear such good comments about the guest house, the location, the views and especially aout the management and staff who take great pleasure in making our guests' stay a truly memorable one.
We really hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schindellegi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I spent 3 relaxing days at this superb place. My room had a perfect view to the ocean. This Guesthouse is quietly situated with tastefully decorated interior. Hazel is a very friendly host and very helpful in organizing things such as restaurants, doctor etc. The breakfast served is unbeatable.
I was so happy that Hazel upon my request appointed a room with no wifi reception to me as I am unfortunately very sensitive to radiation, thank you Hazel.
Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your most kind review. It was lovely to have you back for your second visit and we are very pleased that it will not be your last. Thank you especially for your gracious comments about our manager, her efforts to please and her superb breakfasts. It makes us all smile when we are able to please our guests and reinforces why we love running Auberge Provence, with it's wonderful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The guest house was extremely attractive and had wonderful views. We had the Harbour View room which was very comfortable with a superb bathroom. Everything was beautifully presented with thoughtfulness. The reservations for dinner were good and the 'tuk tuk' taxi service was fun and efficient. Cooked breakfast was great. Cliff walks were a real benefit for booking this guest house.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiesykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the guest house, the views, the location right on the sea and the walks on the cliff paths. We are glad your dinner and transport reservations were a success and appreciate your comments on the cooked breakfast and the room and ensuite bathroom. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Provence

Property: Auberge Provence
Address: 25 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge Provence 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the cliffs, overlooking the whale watcher’s paradise of Walker Bay is an intimate French Provencal retreat.Built around a romantic central courtyard, with a cool charcoal and travertine pool, you can enjoy sumptuous breakfasts under a grapevined terrace, on the seafront or opposite the fireplace in the stylish dining room. For a romantic getaway choose a suite with your own Jacuzzi or plunge pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing