We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect end to our holiday”
Review of Auberge Provence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Provence
Ranked #2 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“perfect end to our holiday”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

we spent all our time in Cape town and we were fortunate enough to spend our last night in this little gem of a place in herms. Everything from arrival to check out was all we would ever need. The perfect place for a relaxing break. The staff and management could not do enough for us. Cant wait to go back in August.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jville2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergeprovence, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for your appreciative review. We are so glad that we met and hopefully exceeded your expectations and cannot wait to welcome you back in August. There should be whales in the bay to bid you welcome too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    52
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
86
339
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Together with my husband we spent two last days of our 2-week South African journey in this guesthouse. What a jewel ! A tiny yet very comfortable hotel, intimate atmosphere, exemplary cleanliness, all this just two steps from the city centre with a breathtaking view on the ocean. Hospitality out of this world that could inspire many five star hotels.
Both of us were spoilt not only with the comfort but also with excellent food. Breakfast was outstanding, top quality fresh fruits, home made lukewarm muffins straight from the oven. It is the first time in our life that someone asks us what kind of music we would like to listen to while having breakfast ! The afternoon tea served on a beautiful platter (with cakes that were simply mouthwatering) makes this outstanding guesthouse home. Special thanks to Sandra and janita who made us feel so special. Coming to Hermanus is a wonderful experience, coming to Auberge Provence is an unforgettable souvenir.

Room Tip: 2 rooms located at the corners have jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergeprovence, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much your complimentary review. To be referred to as a true diamond, is an accolade that we truly appreciate. We are so glad that you enjoyed the hospitality, the beautiful views, the location and the cleanliness of the house. It is especially gratifying to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts and high teas, as we really enjoy preparing them for our guests, along with providing music of your choice. We loved having you both and are very happy it was a good end to your South African experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Perfect getaway! Most amazing views, very relaxed environment within the guest house.
Rooms were clean , comfortable and luxurious! Walk way right in front of guesthouse , making it perfect for a morning walk to enjoy the beautiful view of the ocean and surroundings! Management were very accommodating , helpful and made our stay a very special one. The best trip to Hermanus to date , will be sure to come back for another stay! Thank you for making our stay so special and of the highest quality!

Kerri

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri_LeeD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for your appreciative review. We are pleased you enjoyed the guest house, the rooms and the amazing views. We are privileged to be right on the cliff paths and are glad you enjoyed the walks. Thanks for the compliment on the help and service from management. It was our pleasure to offer you a relaxing and memorable stay. We hope you return soon, perhaps for the whale season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Auberge Provence over my birthday weekend. We were fortunate enough to arrive just in time for afternoon high-tea which was a wonderful break from the wine tasting we had been busy with earlier in the day. Our rooms were great with a perfect ocean view - we were even fortunate enough to see whales on the morning of my birthday (not whale season in April)!

The breakfast was also fantastic and I felt very special with the birthday card and bottle of Sparkling Wine on the table so that we could enjoy some Mimosa's.

All in all a wonderful experience and would recommend Auberge to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a perfect setting that is clean, comfortable and luxurious. The management at Auberge were incredibly helpful and wanted to do everything they could to ensure our stay was of the highest quality. Thank you!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelTrevG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are so glad your birthday weekend was memorable and thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed the high teas, the rooms and the sea views and are particularly thrilled that you got to see the Brydes' whales. Thank you for the compliment on the management and glad you could enjoy the Mimosa's at breakfast! Hope to see you back when the Southern Right whales return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just spent one night. Everything was perfect. From the restaurant they sent us to, to the great views, to the brilliant facilities and the food. One of the best guest houses I've ever stayed in. Will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: Sea view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick-KLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the restaurant recommendation, the views, the facilities and the food. We look forward to your return visit and hope you will be able to stay a bit longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Auberge Provence in March 2014 and were welcomed and subsequently looked after very well indeed. A very comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the sea, excellent breakfasts, the opportunity to rest by the courtyard pool and lots of tender loving care on the part of Hazel, our host. As guest houses go, this is definitely a five star experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycouple771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for your favourable review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and value the compliments on the room, the view, the breakfasts and the service and care from our manager.
We hope to welcome you back soon for more relaxing time at the pool and will certainly endeavour to keep up the 5 star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My Partner and I stayed at Auberge Provence in Hermanus last weekend. Every single thing about it from the magnificent setting, to the welcoming staff and Management, and especially the level of comfort, was absolutely fantastic.
Being in the Travel Business and having seen many Guesthouses in my travels, this was definitely right at the top.
Thanks Hazel and Sandra - we will be back, and i will recommend Auberge Provence to all my clients.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upstream2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive review. It is such a compliment to be called "world class" and we are really pleased that you enjoyed the setting, the welcoming staff and management and the level of comfort. The fact that your are in the travel business and have had the opportunity to see many guest houses and are able to rate us so highly makes us very appreciative indeed.Thank you so much for your offer to recommend us to your clients. We look forward to welcoming them and would also love to have you and your partner back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Provence

Property: Auberge Provence
Address: 25 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge Provence 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the cliffs, overlooking the whale watcher’s paradise of Walker Bay is an intimate French Provencal retreat.Built around a romantic central courtyard, with a cool charcoal and travertine pool, you can enjoy sumptuous breakfasts under a grapevined terrace, on the seafront or opposite the fireplace in the stylish dining room. For a romantic getaway choose a suite with your own Jacuzzi or plunge pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing