We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale rocking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Ranked #8 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Whale rocking”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After two previous day-visits to Hermanus to see its infamous whales, in which we our only sighting was an otter, we decided not to take chances and stay in Whale Rock Lodge for a night. What a great choice!

It is very conveniently located, at the beginning of the cliff path into town, near the new harbor. We started by walking to the Harbour Rock, a short 3 minute stroll recommended by the very friendly staff. We have to thank them for the tip! Not only was the lunch great. We were treated to a true tail slapping spectacle right in front of our eyes, with two whales giving away a 30 minute show. After lunch, we walked into town by the cliff path. Unfortunately, the whales decided to swim a bit farther from shore this time, but who can blame them?

After dinner at Fabio's (another recommendation by the owner of whale rock) we headed back to a great night sleep, and even better breakfast. Highly recommended, especially now the new owners are upgrading the lodge even further.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimvanderleeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    78
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
96
195
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We received a warm welcome by the friendly staff. Our rooms were spacious, neat and nicely decorated. We heard from the Whale Rock Lodge via Daddy's Deals and I can not wait for a new deal. The platter we received on the first evening was a super winner and together with the open fire in the lounge it created a cosy and welcome atmosphere while the rain outside was pouring and the wind howling.

The next morning we had a problem with the geyser and immediately the Whale Rock staff moved us to the executive room, and wow were we impressed with this upgrade. Beautiful gardens surround the lovely lodge. The buffet breakfasts are a real feast. We certainly enjoyed our stay and I can recommend the place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc56_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Denis A
We arrived for our two-nights stay in a heavy downpour and biting wind but the welcome we received more than made up for the bad weather. Melanie and the Whale Rock team were all charming and helpful. Hot coffee was offered immediately in front of the fire in the lounge where a short while later we had a tastefully presented huge platter of delicious finger food. The large bedroom-en-suite was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with soft white bed linen and because of the cold the electric blankets and wall heaters were most welcome. The breakfasts in the dining area adjacent to the sparkling pool were excellent with plenty of choice and certainly four star standard!! Our next trip to Hermanus we will definitely stay at Whale Rock Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A lovely entrance to a beautiful lodge with nice gardens, pool and pond.
The room was tastefully decorated and very clean. The electric blankets and heater were very welcome especially on the day we arrived as the weather was a bit inclement. The website did advertise bathrobes in each room so we did not pack any only to find these were missing which was a slight problem as the bathroom was quite cold. This aside the breakfast served in the delightful dining room was amazing. We utilised the honesty bar and the staff were pleasant and .. competent. My husband and I would definitely recommend this lodge which is a well situated close to the new harbour.

Room Tip: The room next to the pond can be noisy due to the frogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAUREEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A most enjoyable long weekend. Very comfortable accomodation, spacious rooms with all the mod cons expected in a 4 star facility. Enjoyed the ambience in one of their open lounges, with warm fire burning and a good selection of wines to choose from at the honesty bar, before going out to dinner at one of the many excellent nearby restaurants. Excellent friendly service from the staff, with the young couple completing their hospitalty internship at the lodge really making our time there very special. They are a great asset to the lodge! Thoroughly enjoyed the full choice breakfast around the sparkling pool and pretty Koi pond and pretty lawns and gardens. Excellent walking trail starts right from the lodge, running right along the cliff face overlooking the sea, harbour and the whales were out to see in numbers! Many view points all along the way, with benches provided at regular intervals to stop and enjoy the sights, wherever you wish to do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a great experience and stay we had at the Whale Rock. The rooms are stunningly decorated and spacious, very clean and comfortable. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. The breakfast consists of a large variety of fresh food and great coffee. The best stay for me this year by far, Thank you Whale Rock team.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

To sum the whole weekend up in a word .. STUNNING!!. The staff were friendly, the room was spacious, neat and tidy. The breakfast was top class with a very wide variety to chose from. An unforgettable experience and certainly a place worth coming back to in the future, lets hope Daddy put another deal together.

Room Tip: I think we had the best room available. No 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.5 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.9 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Rock Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Rock Luxury Lodge

Property: Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Address: 26 Springfield Avenue | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Whale Rock Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Rock Luxury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge is considered to be one of the most beautiful buildings in Hermanus and recently had a complete internal makeover into a warm contemporary style. Situated across the road from the New Harbour and the start of the cliff path, it is but a 3 minute walk down to the edge of the cliff and a 5 minute drive to the centre of town. The Lodge has 11 beautifully decorated en suite Rooms & Suites, extensive and well manicured lawns and gardens, a koi pond and probably one of the the largest swimming pools in Hermanus and it is solar heated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whale Rock Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing