We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded B&B in Hermanus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Ranked #8 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Secluded B&B in Hermanus”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was a return visit to this delightful residence. There has been a major refurbishment earlier this year which has not detracted in any way from the atmosphere of the place. The staff are as attentive as ever and it was a delight to be welcomed back by Mel. This is a place to relax and unwind and although not in the centre of Hermanus it is an easy walkable distance along the cliff. In the evening we had a tuk-tuk to take us down town and this was an amusing experience which had not been previously experienced in SA. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard. Breakfasts are freshly prepared and very adequate. Evening restaurant reservations are readily made by the staff who are pleased to offer advice on the types of food on offer. A place we hope to return to in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 3 are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    78
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
96
197
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our 8th visit. Substantial refurbishment during the "off" season and the result is largely very pleasing. Good to see Mel still there - other staff were very pleasant. Already pencilled in for late 2014.

Room Tip: Essentially the price differentials represent the difference between room types/sizes but all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Never have I had such a warm welcome! The duty manager greeted us in the grounds no sooner than we had opened the car doors. We were taken to one of the communal lounges where we were given a welcome drink and an explanation of the lodge services.
We spent two nights at this beautiful lodge, my two teenage sons occupying the interlocking adjacent room. The rooms were probably big enough to accommodate four beds and the en suite bathrooms were plush.
The breakfasts were great with plenty to choose from by way of continental or cooked.
The lodge is literally 1 minute walk from the coastal path. It is about a 10 minute walk along the (safe) path into Hermanus which has plenty of eateries to choose from. The coastal scenery along the walk is spectacular! In the opposite direction and less than 5 minutes stroll away is Hermanus new harbor which also has a nice looking restaurant and wine bar (but we did not eat here). This is where the whale watching boats depart from as well.
Fantastic place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Hermanus.
Highly recommend the Whale Rock Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Lovely thatched residence on outskirts of Hermanus but convenient for cliff walk to whale watch.
Beautiful,and tastefully decorated large bedroom with access to garden and swimming pool.
The breakfasts are cooked to order in a separate dining room by the swimming pool and are delicious with choice also of cold cuts, cheeses and fresh fruit etc.
Helpful and friendly staff made the stay a memorable one. A car is needed for the 10 minute drive to Hermanus though taxis are available but for the energetic a 30 minute walk along the cliffs is also worth while

Room Tip: There is one upstairs bedroom with sea view but the garden rooms are also very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandrewsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I were very impressed by the professional service, helpfulness and friendliness of the foreign interns on week-end duty. They were as good as any full-time staff that we've encountered on our travels - and we've been to many parts of the world.

We enjoyed the lovely spacious room, the larger than average pool and the breakfasts in the dining room at the poolside

It is a lovely peaceful place filled with birdsong - just what we needed at the end of a stressful university semester!!

It is a little way from the centre of Hermanus, but if you like walking it is within walking distance along a lovely path on the edge of the sea.

Room Tip: Room upstairs faces the sea but not a great view of the sea, however it's lovely in all other re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidney_luckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy/belgium
Level Contributor
138 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed with my mother at the Whale Luxury Lodge for one night as part of a tour of South Africa. The lodge is just great: it has very big rooms with high ceilings. Rooms are stylish with a combination of classic / naval furniture and pastel colours. Bathrooms are big and well equipped. Service is friendly. Breakfast was of very good quality in a nice room overlooking the swimming pool. The only drwback could be the location as it is at one end of the town. The car is therefore needed to reach the centre where the main restaurants are. But, in my opinion, it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum, Sudan
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From the moment we arrived to be greeted by Dan until the moment we left we loved every minute at Whale Rock. Beautifully appointed rooms, even down to the electric blankets that were switched on for us every chilly evening, lovely gardens, fantastic breakfasts (the omelettes are truly state of the art!), and the congenial atmosphere make Whale Rock the ideal base for a stay in Hermanus. We will definitely return and would recommend it unreservedly - a real touch of class.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.5 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.9 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Rock Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Rock Luxury Lodge

Property: Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Address: 26 Springfield Avenue | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Whale Rock Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Rock Luxury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge is considered to be one of the most beautiful buildings in Hermanus and recently had a complete internal makeover into a warm contemporary style. Situated across the road from the New Harbour and the start of the cliff path, it is but a 3 minute walk down to the edge of the cliff and a 5 minute drive to the centre of town. The Lodge has 11 beautifully decorated en suite Rooms & Suites, extensive and well manicured lawns and gardens, a koi pond and probably one of the the largest swimming pools in Hermanus and it is solar heated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whale Rock Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing