We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
313
97
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
97
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large pool harbour rock nearby harbour the cliff honesty bar whale watching two nights garden room four star rooms are spacious booking restaurants minute drive main town breakfast is served stayed longer boat trip warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

If heading to Hermanus, the whale rock lodge is the place to stay and you will know why when you walk in. It is not often you come across a place which is so welcoming and impeccably decorated with such attention to detail like those you see in interior design magazines, that you do not want to leave. From the lounge at the entrance to the pool to the restaurant and finally to the rooms, they are just all beautifully done. The location too is a short drive from town and the beach. Restaurants too are close by and you can always order a taxi to take you for a low price. Breakfast was super with a good variety including some lovely cheeses and cured meats with a pesto sauce instead of your standard sausages and bacon and you can also order eggs.

Thank you Melanie to you and your team for what was too short a stay but an unforgettable one. Many tks also for helping us pack our purchases from the farmers market and recommendations for restaurants, vineyards and the tip to go to farmers market and the wonderful route to get back to cape town. Would have not seen as much without all your help. We are most grateful! We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: rooms by the pool
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EnokadeZoysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Enoka,
Thank you for all your lovely comments and for writing such a positive review. it was an absolute pleasure to host the two of you, and the fact that you appreciate all the effort from our side, makes it even better. Hermanus is so beautiful with so many lovely things to do, and you were both open to all the suggestions of what to do. I hope you will return one day and keep in mind this time of the year as the whales have started arriving, and I know that you would so thoroughly enjoy seeing them. Till next time, regards, Melanie Musson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Stayed for a few nights in a Garden Deluxe room with a large sleeping platform for the kids. Our room was very nice, the bathroom was good even if water pressure was occasionally poor, the wifi was good but sometimes choked off, breakfast was good but a little limited and might get boring if you stayed for a long stretch, the staff, especially the Dutch interns, were very attentive and helpful. If you get the room next to the fountain make sure it is turned off at night. It is supposed to be on a timer but this got messed up during our stay and ruined my sleep before I learned that it should not be on at night.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank mysaddlebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Not bad in general, there us no A/c or fan, poor breakfast, Hermanus has got many much better places around. It has got an ample parking space and a large pool inside the property. Generally manageable, but i will not choose to go there again..

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ShebeaunM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We are always open to constructive criticism to see how and where we can improve our level of service. I would just like to mention that having a thatch roof means the rooms are generally cooler than those of a standard roof type, and as such we do not have air conditioning. However, we do have fans available and as mentioned in our in-house brochure in the rooms, one just needs to request a fan at reception and it will be put in your room. With regards to the breakfast, we offer a large selection of both hot and continental options, together with fruit platters, cereals, a large selection of breads, croissants, rolls and a variety of jams, cold meats, cheeses and juices and feel that this more than surpasses any other 4 star guest house offerings. We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Definitely NOT a luxury lodge and definitely won’t return. Smelly, stuffy room that needed a good airing and a good clean. Positioning not great. Drove in through an open gate and then interrogated, “How did you get in? Who let you in?” No welcome or “hello”!!! NO sea views, though assistant manager assured us telephonically there were partial sea views, as he too assured us of a king size bed. Stained decorative pillows on bed (picture supplied). Remnants of previous guest food on the sticky floor around and under the kettle table (picture supplied). Floors filthy so could not take one’s shoes off as bits of dirt and grit everywhere. Walked into the room on the second day, unexpectedly, to witness housekeeping with the linen placed on the filthy floor while about to remake the bed. No management on duty at all over the Cape Epic weekend, which had a student who was “one week trained” left to oversee the guests. No air conditioner. King size bed request confirmed over the phone, ignored and got two three quarter beds, which student said would need to be carried out of the room to supply a double bed as the student was not aware of a converter which “joins” the two mattresses together. This was done on our last of 3 nights. Quiet room, which was confirmed telephonically, was not supplied as the entrance to the room was adjacent to the front door of the main entrance. Management highly unprofessional to arrive 3 days later and confront us in a partially full breakfast room to discuss the problems and in so doing advertising to all and sundry. After severe stomach ache after our first morning tea we discovered that the milk supplied was old and had expired 3 weeks earlier. Cigarettes in an ashtray in our room’s outside seating area left there for 3 days. We do not smoke. Management basically non-existent and unacceptable housekeeping standards for a luxury lodge. I asked for a fan, the student said that I don’t need one!!! Unbelievable?! How is the student qualified to know what my needs are?
The manager Mel, gave us a reduction of one night free, firstly, and then changed it to 50 percent off overall reduction and unfortunately it was still definitely not worth it. Unfortunately with the Epic on there was nowhere else to go to. Very disappointing and a clearly a website blunder on our part.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Good Afternoon Mrs Morris, Well there is not much more that I can say. We gave you a full 50% discount on your entire 3 day stay, which your husband accepted as a sign of goodwill to make up for any unpleasant issues which you had encountered. When I came on duty Monday morning, your issues were immediately dealt with and we tried to rectify everything to the best of our ability. The staff was addressed accordingly to all the issues which your raised.
We open up our doors to students training in the hospitality industry, to enable them to get experience and learn about hospitality. Their youthful energy is appreciated by guests far and wide and it's a shame that this was not a good experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting, lovely rooms, very attentive staff. We spent 3 nights here, enjoyed cliff walk to town and very good restaurants. Cannot fault it. Would love to visit Whale Rock Luxury Lodge again!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marionjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews