We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation in beautiful Hermanus”
Review of House on Westcliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
House on Westcliff
Ranked #22 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed two days only, but enough to enjoy the town, surroundings and the house itself. Beautiful rooms, great beds, very clean. The breakfast and the garden are wonderful, and there is a charming living room to enjoy when the weather is not good. Service was excellent, both ladies running the business were truly helpful

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bio_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

Lovely little place situated a bit out of the town centre, a plus point I think. Very well-appointed room, excellent breakfast, service was fabulously random as the owner was clearly hungover from the Saturday night before - I personally liked that! New harbour with a couple of decent restaurants nearby was a bonus too and the cliff path for whale watching (and rock rabbits) was just across the road.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tefoonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I had a most delightful stay at the House on Westcliff. Not only is the lounge/diningroom of this B&B beautifully furnished, each room is spacious, clean and well appointed. Each room (there are 6) has its own entrance with lovely seating outside each room. The garden is delightful with a most inviting pool and reclining chairs. The position of the guesthouse is superb - a stone's throw from the unmissable cliff top walk into town. Our host was incredible informative about the town of Hermanus and the whales and made excellent suggestions for the restaurants in the town and at nearby Harbour. Lovely English breakfast and a tastefully laid buffet table. Will definitely return to this little gem!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Nice setting in Hermanus with each room having its own outside entrance. Rooms a good size with good size bathroom. Guesthouse and parking were though a secure electric gate so definitely felt safe. B&B is close to the new harbour so within walking distance of a couple of restaurants as well as the cliffside path. We were lucky enough to see some whales while walking the path! Good free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

House on Westcliff is an excellent place to stay. In a quiet setting it has a delightful garden with a small pool and only a few minutes walk from the cliff, it is an ideal place to relax. Our accommodation was in purpose built units with gardens and a small seating area for each room, very comfortable & relaxed. There is a lovely lounge and dining room where we had a first class breakfast. Our hosts were also most helpful in booking our meals at the nearby Harbour Restaurant - also highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenejackson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The thatched garden rooms provide one's own entrance. Stunning 5km headland walkway a few hundred metres away. Breakfasts start with fruit cocktail within half a pineapple followed by an excellent English breakfast. Beyond criticism!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

we have just returned today from a wonderful two wekks in south africa, and i would have to say that one of our highlites was staying at this guesthouse. the gardens make a lovely setting for just chilling out by the pool on those hot days. the rooms were lovely and clean, the staff and owners were very helpful and always attentive. and as we dont mind a little walk to get something to eat the walk down to the cliffs to find a beautiflul restaurant on the ocean and have whales pass you bye as you eat made our stay!!!!. iwe have no hesitation in recommending this guest house, oh and the little dog max is a joy... lee and jim from liverpool.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#25 of 86 in Hermanus
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#11 of 86 in Hermanus
337 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cliff Cottage
Cliff Cottage
#28 of 86 in Hermanus
300 reviews
1.9 mi away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Sandbaai
191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#8 of 86 in Hermanus
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on Westcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on Westcliff

Address: 96 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £45 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House on Westcliff 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the cliff paths overlooking Walker Bay is House on Westcliff. This boutique Bed and Breakfast comprises six charming rooms furnished with eclectic African and European design combining the best of antiquity with modern comfort and features. Exclusive thatched en-suite rooms are spacious in layout with individual furnishings and offer the discerning guest comfort and privacy. All rooms have individual entries which open out onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your House on Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing