We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whales from the window”
Review of Les Baleines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Baleines
Ranked #47 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hermanus is famous for the whales and this property delivers great views from the balconies. We were only there for two nights and this was our first trip so Theresa had arranged for us to have dinner in two different restaurants and organised a boat trip to see the whales which was very helpful. Great breakfasts and kindness from all the staff

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dls_user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is about 3kms outside the main town.worth getting directions as the road names and numbers can be a bit confusing.Having a car is advisable.
Warmly welcomed and we had a room at the front of the hotel.Other rooms have lovely views over the sea.Lovely lounge leading to the balcony from where whales are regularly spotted.The hotel is set back from the sea.
The breakfast was good,but as others have said certainly not a "whale of a breakfast"
Rooms clean and comfortable.
We spent the day in Hermanus and from the cliffs,adjacent to the town centre we had spectacular views of the whales.It certainly lived up to being the Capital of whale watching

Room Tip: Very quiet location so I wouldn't think noise an issue.If you want a sea view room ,check it out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lit39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Theresa and her staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are cozy and mostly comfortable (see note below about beds). There are really nice sitting areas upstairs and down, a pool area, and a balcony with a wonderful view over the bay.
The breakfast was good, and Theresa was very helpful booking us a whale tour (offering to book at restaurants as well, but we skipped on that).

Overall the place was great, but a word of warning for taller travelers: the beds are a bit on the short side. I'm just over 1.8m, and my heels didn't quite fit on the bed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great B&B with friendly staff. We had to leave very early in the morning to get a flight so were going to miss breakfast but they kindly provided us with some breakfast the evening before which we could keep in the room's fridge. They also reserve a table for you at local restaurants for the nights you are staying, and what great restaurants! Highly recommend Les Baleines if you are staying in Hermanus.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in this guesthouse for 2 nights. We enjoyed our stay: we had booked a standard room and were upgraded to a superior room, which was very spacious and so was the bathroom.
As it was winter and quiet enough in town, the hostess explained she did not make any reservation for dinner or/and whale watching but she would do it straight away should we want to.
The breakfast was good: yoghourt and muesli, muffin, cereals and a choice of hot breakfast and fruits was plenty and tasty.
It is far from the city center, so you do need a car to get by. And though we had no real issue, I can understand some of the guests having had a bad experience with one of the staff (one lady was really lovely, the other lady not so much): we stayed for 2 nights and after our first night, we were about to go wander after breakfast and the not-so-nice-lady stopped us from going with a "did you pay?" kind of look, so we said we were staying another night and were able to go.....
Despite this, it's a very nice guest house and I would recommend it .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valérie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

When we first arrived we were given an "appartment" in the annex which had it not been winter/spring would have been a great room is so spacious and wonderful (great for a family) but and this is the wonderful thing, the owner on hearing I was cold upgraded us to this beautiful suite in the main building that was so look sumptuous, wet room underfloor heating wow just gorgeous!
The food was lovely and what a character the owner Theresa is!!!!! A real mind of information what she does not know about the area is not worth knowing about, if you have a problem it's sorted!!!
Definitely recommend!!!

Room Tip: Unless in the summer try to get a room in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynScriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The majority of the reviews have been positive hence why we booked this place. We always try to write positives as well as negatives in a review but it's hard to find any for this place. On arrival we were greeted by a staff member who was so unbelievably rude, she grunted at us, we made effort to make polite conversation asking about Hermanus, she ignored us and walked away! We had no smiles, no conversation, nothing. We assumed she might have been having a bad day so we let her off, but unfortunately her rudeness continued throughout our stay. On previous reviews guests mentioned how great it was that the B&B booked restaurants and whale trips in advance for them, Les Balines did not make one reservation for us.

Although they kindly upgraded our room, the room was falling apart, there were cracks in the walls and ceiling, the tap on the bath fell off, the water in the bath trickles out, the plug holes are clogged with dirty hair from previous guests and the room was freezing cold as the door to the balcony did not close properly. There is no room service and although there is a fridge, food is not allowed in the rooms.

I don't know even where to start with the breakfast, on the first day we were going shark diving so we asked for an earlier breakfast, they refused, even though we had already paid for breakfast! The second day when we actually got breakfast it was hamster food, we asked for scramble egg and we were literately served one scrambled egg on a very large plate. On their menu they state 'enjoy your whale of a breakfast' there is nothing whale size about this appalling breakfast. 

The location is terrible, unless you have a hire car you are going to have to get taxis everywhere. 
There are cheaper guesthouses in the town which are nicer with beautiful views of the sea and the whales. 

Upon checkout the rude lady confronted us and pressured us into writing a comment in the visitor book, whilst we did this the lady was leaning over us checking what we were writing, this was imitating behaviour which was not needed.

The owner decided to show her face as we were leaving, which we thought was quite odd as usually the owner should welcome you. She seemed like a nice lady but it was a shame she wasn't around to do her job so unfortunately we do not reccomend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BubbleandSqueak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Pines Lodge
Four Pines Lodge
#11 of 11 in Hermanus
14 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
706 reviews
3.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
0.2 mi away
The Nantucket B&B
The Nantucket B&B
#39 of 86 in Hermanus
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Baleines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Baleines

Address: 193 10th Avenue | Voëlklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Baleines 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Les Baleines Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing