We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Relaxing”
Review of Les Baleines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Baleines
Ranked #42 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Having had a long drive due to road closures it was a pleasant surprise to find that our hostess, Teresa, had already got us booked into a superb restaurant for the evening. Not only that, she'd booked our boat trip for the next day too! She put the 8 of us into the seperate annex rather than the main house, and we all had spacious, well laid out rooms. We enjoyed breakfast overlooking the ocean and although the menu wasn't as extensive as in larger places, it was very good. It's not far out of town and we enjoyed a very pleasant taxi ride courtesy of Addi and his wife to The Burgundy Restaurant where we watched the whales. Would reccommend for a peaceful, away from it all stay en route across the Cape.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    52
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
116
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent 2 nights here but spent very little time in the B & B, we never used any of the 2 plunge pools as we spent most of the time Whale spotting, walking eating & drinking.
the property is a short taxi ride into town with some nice eating places we eat both nights at the Burgundy.
If you like walking just to the rear of the premises is a great walk,

Room Tip: This property is based on 2 houses, we all stayed in the house next door to the reception and restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very enjoyable stay. The room was pleasantly furnished and provided more than everything we needed for our stay. The bathroom was well laid out and the shower was good. There were good communal lounges and balconies to take in the incredible coastal view, and two well maintained pools that could have been used. Yes we saw whales from the balcony during our stay - but at a distance (binoculars useful to see what they were up to). The breakfast was a pleasant experience.
Teresa, our host, who lives in an adjoining property was most helpful. Booking {good, but not expensive by UK costs} restaurants for our first two nights and a whale watching trip - I think this is a standard approach for all guests (who can of course cancel). The booking were perfect and a helpful touch.
The main downside (known in advance) was the distance of the property from the town centre (and the restaurants). As alcohol was involved in our evening eating experiences we took a taxi (which could be booked from the property) which for two people for the round trip cost 100 rand (£7) before a tip. Get clear directions (from google maps) before arriving as you will need them to find the property. Car is parked outside the property. Wifi was available free of charge - the best signal was adjacent to the reception area - and then it was entirely adequate for normal email / surfing activity.

Room Tip: Avoiding a downstairs room might be an idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here during our honeymoon in September 2013. It is a beautiful guest house with a really homely feel.

Our room was amazing and so comfortably. They had conveniently booked us dinner and onto a whale watching tour as we would not have managed to get in on either otherwise. Sadly the whale watching tour was cancelled but Hermanus offers great whale watching from the land anyway.

Breakfast is amazing here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very pleasant stay. Teresa couldn't have been more helpful, pre-booking restaurants and suggesting whale watching trips. Rooms very tastefully decorated and comfortable, with wifi in the room. The restaurant she recommended was absolutely excellent in fact we went back the second night. It's a little way out of town but taxis are inexpensive and it is well positioned for the beautiful beach. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldrvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Located high on the slopes overlooking the bay this guest house was the first stop for our Cape Town to Shamwari Reserve trip and set the bar high for our subsequent accommodation. ((There had obviously been a recent plumbing leak in the en-suite but the cause had been dealt with and simply awaited very minor decorative touch up - nothing too serious - this stuff happens to us all at home at some time or another!)

On arrival our hostess informed us she had pre-booked us at a restaurant that evening and on a whale watching trip the following day. There was no obligation on us to honour the bookings and they could be cancelled easily and with no penalty. The restaurant booked for us was excellent but the whale watching trip was not taken up due to time constraints. In both cases the trouble taken was appreciated.

The accommodation was well appointed, the staff friendly and the breakfast was certainly big enough for a healthy eater! In contrast to some other reviews, we found our hostess very friendly - even more so when I tried out my rudimentary conversational Afrikaans and found an enthusiastic audience!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Its a nice guesthouse however i didnt like the fact that we were in the middle of a residential area. Owner was very friendly. Wasn't impressed with breakfast. No the best value for money in my opinion. But it has a fantastic view onto the ocean where you can see whales with a set of binoculars. Our sheets were dirty and weren't changed during our 2 night stay there. So definately not impressed with this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
3.4 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#3 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Baleines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Baleines

Property: Les Baleines
Address: 193 10th Avenue | Voëlklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Baleines 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Les Baleines Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing