We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Baleines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Baleines
Ranked #42 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hereford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We spent 5 nights at Les Baleines and being honest it was probably a night or two too much. It is a lovely house,the staff were good and the cleanliness could not be faulted.BUT the position on the edge of town is a bit isolated and is very quiet (as is Hermanus itself).Luckily we had booked a car before leaving the UK and made full use of it.Theresa (the owner) as previous reviewers have said had booked us in at The Burgundy restaurant for the first night and it was great (see my review)Just to clear up a few points made by other posters,firstly the local taxi firm is a husband and wife (Attys'Taxis) and we used them a couple of times.They were friendly ,punctual and the return fare to town was 150 rand (£9) so I dont know how another poster was charged 400 rand. The breakfast has been mentioned by a number of people,all I can say is that it is more than more than adequate.If fresh fruit,cereals,a muffin,a fried breakfast,toast,fruit juice and tea or coffee isnt enough for you ,I suggest a diet may be needed.All in all ,if you want a quiet couple of days to wind down at the end af your stay in South Africa or a stopoff whilst travelling,it is a lovely place,personally I wished we had stayed in Cape Town for a couple more days and stopped here for 3 days maximum.

Room Tip: As others have said unless you are heavy sleepers avoid the downstairs suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    52
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
116
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Les Baleines is situated outside of Hermanus on a housing estate, which disappointed us somewhat as we could not walk into town. Deluxe rooms were large and one had a lovely balcony with sun loungers. Attie's taxis were a bit of a rip off after Cape Town - 400 rand for a return trip compared to the tuctuc price of 150 rand, as well as a bit of a scruffy ride so beware. Perhaps there is another taxi firm that could be used?
We were booked into the restaurant 'Burgundy' which was very good and not too expensive.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely with a granola/yoghurt/honey type starter and choice of eggs with the cooked. More choice of fresh fruit would have improved the experience.
Lovely sitting area inside and out for the guests as well as a small pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Having had a long drive due to road closures it was a pleasant surprise to find that our hostess, Teresa, had already got us booked into a superb restaurant for the evening. Not only that, she'd booked our boat trip for the next day too! She put the 8 of us into the seperate annex rather than the main house, and we all had spacious, well laid out rooms. We enjoyed breakfast overlooking the ocean and although the menu wasn't as extensive as in larger places, it was very good. It's not far out of town and we enjoyed a very pleasant taxi ride courtesy of Addi and his wife to The Burgundy Restaurant where we watched the whales. Would reccommend for a peaceful, away from it all stay en route across the Cape.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent 2 nights here but spent very little time in the B & B, we never used any of the 2 plunge pools as we spent most of the time Whale spotting, walking eating & drinking.
the property is a short taxi ride into town with some nice eating places we eat both nights at the Burgundy.
If you like walking just to the rear of the premises is a great walk,

Room Tip: This property is based on 2 houses, we all stayed in the house next door to the reception and restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very enjoyable stay. The room was pleasantly furnished and provided more than everything we needed for our stay. The bathroom was well laid out and the shower was good. There were good communal lounges and balconies to take in the incredible coastal view, and two well maintained pools that could have been used. Yes we saw whales from the balcony during our stay - but at a distance (binoculars useful to see what they were up to). The breakfast was a pleasant experience.
Teresa, our host, who lives in an adjoining property was most helpful. Booking {good, but not expensive by UK costs} restaurants for our first two nights and a whale watching trip - I think this is a standard approach for all guests (who can of course cancel). The booking were perfect and a helpful touch.
The main downside (known in advance) was the distance of the property from the town centre (and the restaurants). As alcohol was involved in our evening eating experiences we took a taxi (which could be booked from the property) which for two people for the round trip cost 100 rand (£7) before a tip. Get clear directions (from google maps) before arriving as you will need them to find the property. Car is parked outside the property. Wifi was available free of charge - the best signal was adjacent to the reception area - and then it was entirely adequate for normal email / surfing activity.

Room Tip: Avoiding a downstairs room might be an idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here during our honeymoon in September 2013. It is a beautiful guest house with a really homely feel.

Our room was amazing and so comfortably. They had conveniently booked us dinner and onto a whale watching tour as we would not have managed to get in on either otherwise. Sadly the whale watching tour was cancelled but Hermanus offers great whale watching from the land anyway.

Breakfast is amazing here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very pleasant stay. Teresa couldn't have been more helpful, pre-booking restaurants and suggesting whale watching trips. Rooms very tastefully decorated and comfortable, with wifi in the room. The restaurant she recommended was absolutely excellent in fact we went back the second night. It's a little way out of town but taxis are inexpensive and it is well positioned for the beautiful beach. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldrvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.4 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Baleines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Baleines

Property: Les Baleines
Address: 193 10th Avenue | Voëlklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Baleines 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Les Baleines Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing