We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #12 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Potting Shed is an excellent place to stay in the beautifull town Hermanus. The owners (Dave and Annamarie) are very friendly. Dave even set up his own football team in Hermanus for the kids in that town. We met a lot of nice people during our trip of 6 weeks trough SA, but those people are special.
The location is perfect, close to the centre and sea, where we saw a lot of whales.

We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We don't know the B&B rooms but we enjoyed our stay in the catering unit, very near to the sea. The appartment was very clean and comfortable, complete of all a family need.
If you like to stay on the sea this is the right place.
Not very near to Hermanus center.
But if you are like you can see whales from the beach of the unit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rodolfo1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Stayed for 1 night in June in this pleasant guesthouse.
Good location, walking distance from town.
Friendly owners, nice breakfast.
Few odd things: we booked a twin room but got something akin to a family room (double bed and two tiny single beds); heating not turned on in the room before we arrived so pretty chilly; where-ever have you been asked to hand in your breakfast order written in dry-wipe on a plastic laminate the night before?; and fridge in the bar for guests to use but not turned on so not cold and no ice for drinks.
Sadly, given the glowing reviews, not in the same league as similar priced guest-houses on our trip from Cape Town and along the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ral32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, was a most pleasant stay. Annemarie and David (the two owners ) were very helpful with arranging excursions, advice about restaurants etc and were also very friendly without being intrusive.

Room was very very clean and comfortable, plus they had a playstation and DVD player to keep us amused one night when it was raining! Breakfast was tip top esp the eggs and pancakes! Would definitely stay here again, only thing I would add would be an internet station in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The Potting Shed was an excellent place to stay in Hermanus, close enough to the town, restaurants and sea to be able to walk and leave the car behind. Annamarie and Dave were the friendliest and most helpful people we came across in S.A. They helped us arrange excursions and gave us tips about what to see and where to go. Truly invaluable. I can't recommend the Potting Shed highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallacefamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My parents & I spent 5 days in a self catering apartment in Tobago Bay run by Anna Marie & David who also own the Potting Shed Guest House. The clean, well maintained 2 bedroom apartment with an ocean view provided a beautiful and relaxing getaway.

The complex is within a short drive of Hermanus town centre, Grotto Beach and other activities in and around Hermanus. Anna Marie & David do provide information about these.

Just a note, the complex is not the easiest to find at night. We were however told this beforehand and when fetching the keys at the Potting Shed we were given good directions to the apartment.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jln008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We were travelling along the garden route and at the last minute we ended up at hermanus, it was late but annamarie was helpful in letting us stay and even organised our shark cage diving the next morn. we ended up staying two nights. she was so helpful and the accomodation was clean pleasent to stay in i would recommend this place to anyone and have even recommended it to family that lives in SA. the town was close and walkable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquemullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
964 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.8 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#10 of 86 in Hermanus
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#20 of 86 in Hermanus
150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#6 of 86 in Hermanus
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing