We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot, great staff, beautiful home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #32 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect spot, great staff, beautiful home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

What a pretty spot and lovely people. Sadly for us the whales had left this end of the Bay so we drove over to the other side and saw their tails there. I would love to come back in the summer, well anytime, actually. Nice little town and this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    34
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
114
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and wish it could have been longer! Room 1 is absolutely lovely and the views from the large balcony are stunning. Just a very short stroll into Hermanus and the only thing that could have been better was to have visited at whaletime! We will be back then.
Gail runs an excellent B & B and even went out to get my wife some gluten free bread for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitch452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

My family (husband, two boys, one daughter, and one son in law - all over 24) stayed here 3 nights. It was close to shops and restaurants so everyone had the freedom to get out and explore on their own without a car. If you just wanted to relax, the balconies were great to look out over the ocean for whales or take a nap on a chaise. When we left with the car, the recommendations were perfect for eating, whale watching and shark diving. Such wonderful memories. The home was a pleasure to stay in. It has that back in time ambience with lots of amenities..

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarolMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendalough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

La Fontaine Guesthouse is just perfect - having staying in 2008 we were delighted to return again in 2009 with other family members. Gail is a mine of information and could not be more helpful, from arranging trips to making dinner reservations. The location is beautiful with stunning views of the Indian Ocean. We also saw whales from our balcony. It is only a short beautiful walk into Hermanus. We would highly recommend La Fontaine to our friends and family. Michael & Mary and Pat & Patricia Cullen, Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Mary-Cullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

A fabulous guest house overlooking the bay- the house is beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Our bedroom was on the ground floor at the back of the house and had its own patio.It was large and well furnished with an enormous bathroom complete with two basins, separate shower and bath. Monogrammed bath robes and even two hot waterbottles with monogrammed covers in the cupboard! It was very well run by Gail who made sure everything was perfect. Housekeeping was immaculate. We had breakfast on the veranda watching the whales in the bay! You could not find a more perfect place to stay in Hermanus--5 star

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

We spent 3 nights at La Fontaine in Room 1 which is sea facing with balcony. The room was absolutely amazing. The location is excellent and the hospitality also very very good. The breakfasts were lovely as were the views - whale watching over breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiltleEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

We visited Hermanus with the intention of staying overnight. Despite the fact that it is not the season for whale spotting - Hermanus has wonderful views and easy clifftop walks.
The town is small with good shops.
La Fontaine was selected from an accommodation guide book.
The house is everything you want from a seaside guest house. Beautifully furnished lounge and bedrooms - two with outstanding sea views but all wonderful.
Breakfast on the front terrace overlooking the sea was a delight.
Gail who manages it was most helpful.
We will return again when the whales are in season.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#6 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#40 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#11 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Property: La Fontaine Guest House
Address: 33 Marine Drive | PO Box 1170, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing