We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #31 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is located directly at the sea. The view is fantastic and the rooms are very nice and cosy.
Gail was very friendly and sincere and was trying her best to arrange nice things to do for us and was also directing us to good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlijnv V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    34
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
114
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My daughter and I have just come back from a fabulous trip here! The position is fantastic, you can see the whales from the lovely dining room! The staff, position, helpfulness and value for money were all brilliant. Just great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickysevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location, comfortable and affordable. Secondly, the staff is really friendly and obliging, just what you need. Lovely place with lovely people. They confirmed our shark trek and helped us find local businesses that were open late on Sunday. Loved playing with the little dachshunds....sooo cute.

Room Tip: They have a very large upstairs room, great for families. Also the rooms facing the mountain are ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khaleesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Myself, my wife and 9 year-old grandson stayed 4 nights at this fantastic guesthouse in Hermanus. Top of our "to do" lists here were Southern Right Whale trips and diving with Great White Sharks. Our host, Gail, was absolutely amazing in helping us organise these and was unbelievably helpful with advice/tips on local restaurants/walks etc. The rooms were excellent and breakfasts will really set you up for the day. We actually saw whales from our dining table!! Gail's 2 dogs(Gabby and Mali) proved a massive hit with our grandson. I cannot recommend La Fontaine too highly if you are considering a stay in this beautiful part of South Africa. If only all b+b's and their hosts were like this!!

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms 2 and 3 great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob186380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

La fontaine was the perfect start to our honeymoon trip along the garden route. The manager, Gail, is wonderful and her two lovely and very well behaved dogs Gaby and Miley, made the place feel so homely. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite free of charge which was huge and luxurious with the most perfect views over the bay. And we were in close proximity to do all the tours, whale watching and wine tasting which was great fun. The food was great and the staff were lovely and everything was catered around our needs. Little touches like our rooms being quickly cleaned and sheets changed while we were having our breakfast meant that we were never disturbed and were well looked after. Hermanus is a perfectly beautiful little hide away and we intend to go back as soon as we can. And we will most definitely be staying in la fontaine.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

My wife and I (age 78 & 82) on a months holiday from the UK were very pleased we selected La Fontaine for our 10 night stay in Hermanus as it had everything we were looking for; an interesting and relaxing time without the need to drive a car.
Not only does the house have a superb view across the bay and is handily placed for coastal walks and the town and restaurants but the accomodation was extremely comfortable and the service excellent. Our bedroom was large and well equiped and opened out onto a balcony where we could relax on comfortable loungers and watch the sea breaking over the rocky coastline. It must be a most spectacular spot to whale watch in season.
The guest areas were well kept and maintained and Gail Lewis, the manageress extremely helpful with suggestions and arranging restaurant and taxi bookings as well as recommending places of interest to visit. On our request to see something of the surounding country and coastline she arranged for Dave de Beer, a well known local author on Hermanus whales and expert on local birds to take us on a tour of the area, taking most of a day, which we found most interesting and impressive.
We felt very much at home at La Fontaine and we hope we can return on a future occassion to once again enjoy the wonderful hospitality and delightful setting.
Mary & Malcolm Lodge, Leicester, UK

Room Tip: If you want a sea facing balcony room go for Room 1 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

A beautiful establishment, stylish interiors and discreet and helpful staff. Gail the manager made us feel at home and was informative about the attractions and restaurant options. The Hotel itself is situated on Marine Drive with a stunning sea view from the breakfast table or from the upstairs rooms. These are beautifully furnished and somehow reminded us of staying with a family. Really felt at home. You can lie in bed and watch the waves. Lovely! If you are here between July and December you might even see whales from your terrace.
The breakfast was lovely with a choice of cereals and whatever eggs etc. you like.
Will be back and happy to recommend to anyone I know.

Room Tip: Upstairs seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#6 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#42 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Property: La Fontaine Guest House
Address: 33 Marine Drive | PO Box 1170, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing