We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #32 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wassenaar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Very friendly, cosy atmosphere, good management, wonderfull seavieuw, (whales!), delicieus breakfast and a very comfortable room.
The house is furnished in a warm feel good style and located on walking distance of the centre of the village.

Rienier en Margriet

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margriet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    34
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
115
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ronneby, Blekinge Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very nice stay at the guest house with Gail and her lovely dogs :)
Beautiful, big room and nice bathroom. Excellent breakfast with magnificent sea view, dolphins were playing outside.
Gail were very helpful with suggestions on restaurants and bookings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

A very nice guesthouse with a love for details and personalized service. I felt very welcome and appreciated the caring style of welcoming guests. Breakfast was delicious and rooms always clean. Landlord is a very friendly person.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura Melina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speyer, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

perfect location, directly at the sea, calm and clean rooms, very friendly stuff, excellent breakfast and the best tips for Hermanus and the area around. We enjoyed our time at La Fontaine and fell in love with the two dogs. We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MFK20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Super Guest House in a great spot on the sea front and easy walking distance to the centre of Hermanus. We were lucky to have the best room in the house which was huge and spotlessly clean. Gail is a most charming and informative host and we would not hesitate in booking again on our next trip, hopefully in 2 years time.

Room Tip: Beautiful seaviews from 1 & 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aylesburybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A lovely Guest House on the Sea Front within walking distance of the centre of Hermanus.
The rooms were spotlessly clean but unfortunately we did not get one of the rooms overlooking the sea. We had only booked some five months earlier. The rooms with the sea view are booked at least a year ahead.
Gael was and excellent hostess and gave us some very good recommendations with regards as to what to see and where to eat.
The highlight being, that although it was Novemeber, we actually saw the Whales.

Room Tip: Book at least a year in advance to get a room with a balcony and a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

La Fontaine is a beautiful, almost cottage style house situated right on the waterfront in the charming town of Hermanus. It is quite possible you may observe the odd whale from your breakfast table! It is minutes walk from the lovely town centre with its wide range of shops and restaurants.
On arrival we were given a warm welcome by Gail, the manageress. We arrived at 1.15pm and within minutes she had booked us on a 2.oopm whale watching boat as, she said, the next day's weather might not be good. Fantastic!! We saw several whales and had a superb experience.
La Fontaine is a lovely guesthouse. The room was very comfortable with a wonderful comfy bed.
At breakfast we were sat at a table on the covered veranda overlooking Hermanus Bay and the opportunity to spot the odd whale was there though we were not so lucky as earlier reviewers.
Gail and her staff were excellent in making our stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Eleven Guesthouse
Ocean Eleven Guesthouse
#27 of 86 in Hermanus
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#43 of 86 in Hermanus
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#23 of 86 in Hermanus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Property: La Fontaine Guest House
Address: 33 Marine Drive | PO Box 1170, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing