We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Fontaine Guest House Hermanus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #31 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“La Fontaine Guest House Hermanus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Convenient access to town. Great beachfront location. Beautiful sea views from the verandah while enjoying a delicious breakfast! Lovely interiors. Staff attentive and friendly. Highly recommended.Child friendly too.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    34
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
114
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice Guest House overlooking the sea. Room was at the front and was clean and comfortable. Owner was friendly and booked dinner for us in local restaurants on both nights that we were there. Recommendations were excellent. Only slight niggle was having to choose breakfast the day before.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We booked a room for 2 nights at this Guesthouse which is very close to the centre of Hermanus and its local amenities. Our room had a balcony overlooking the sea and the garden/pool below. Rooms on the ground floor were available for use by guests and were packed with interesting books, artifacts and memorabilia. Gail, the Landlady, was very helpful and suggested places we might like to visit and things to do and ensured that the guests were provided with everything they needed. Breakfast on the patio was good and the best we had had during our months holiday. The only regret we had was that we were unable to stay longer. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here only one night in the family suite which includes a double and twin room with shared bathroom in between. It is a really high standard guest house and the location on Marine Drive overlooking the sea is great for the view and for walking into Hermanus or along the Cliff path. There is off street secure parking and breakfast was one of the best we had on our travels. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very good location on sea front a few minutes walk from the main town and restaurants. We spent one night here. Our small room was at the back of the hotel, upstairs. The balcony was so narrow it was difficult to manoeuvre the furniture to a position where two people could sit side by side and the view was mainly of roof tops and the car park. We were glad to be staying just one night. The breakfast was nice, but would have preferred not to have to choose it the night before.. A better room would have cost more but worth it if staying more than one night.

Room Tip: Large sea front rooms upstairs have prime views. Second choice would be downstairs room with access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Real good location, nice service ...
Room was to small for a rate of 100 € per night..
unusual.... to fill up the breakfast menu and the time of breakfast he day before
all in all we felt very well in La Fontaines


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brigite H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Top rate seafront accommodation in one of the nicest parts of Hermanus. 10 minute stroll along the cliffs to harbour / restaurant area. Smallish room more than made up for by the large private verandah. (Slept with verandah door open listening to the sea.) Dormer rooms set in pitched roof could be warm on a really hot day. No aircon, but plenty of through ventilation. Very comfortable during our stay (ambient outside temperature in high 20's). All services excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fhtrieg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#5 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#41 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#11 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Property: La Fontaine Guest House
Address: 33 Marine Drive | PO Box 1170, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing