We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abalone Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abalone Guest Lodge
Ranked #14 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mossel Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stopped over in Hermanus for a night and found Abalone Guest Lodge after several of the previous Guesthouses did not answer their phones and gates. Abalone Guesthouse is very neat, comfortable and friendly. We had an amazing night's rest and had a delicious breakfast the next morning! Great value for money. We'll definitely be back to try the spa out next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    92
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
68
271
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked in for one night and extended our stay for another night as we enjoyed our accommodation so much.
The rooms are well appointed and spacious with attention to detail.
The breakfast was scrumptious and well presented.
Views are really lovely, I can recommend a nature walk through the fynbos along the ocean.

This is such a lovely guest lodge, really well worth visiting.
Staff was friendly and welcoming and we will definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamilton-Manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for two days and had a room with sea view. The rooms are lovely decorated and very cosy. The view from the balcony is wonderful. You can start a walk along the coast directly from the hotel. The pool deck is also very nice. I will return if I visit this area again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spuckie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

On Friday 21 March I spent the evening at the wonderful Abalone Guest Lodge in Hermanus - the welcome was warm, the explanation of how things worked, lucid and the accommodation quite splendid! Breakfast out on the patio on the Saturday morning was delightful and very enjoyable - I had asked for a Saturday Argus and it was waiting for me on the patio!

Room Tip: Room 9 was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTown075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

A visit to the Abalone Lodge and Wellness Centre in Hermanus is a wonderful experience not to be missed. The lodge is very tranquil and just walking distance from the ocean. The Spa is small but the treatments is off hight quality. I can really recommend it

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I would highly recommend this Guest House to anyone looking for a few nights stay in Hermanus. Especially those intending to play golf when the course is within a few hundred yards. We were made very welcome and staff went out of their way to accommodate our early start times for golf. Very friendly atmosphere, very comfortable accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed unfortunately only for one night, would stay longer the next time! Perfect location, beautiful and large rooms! enjoyed especially the Welcome Drink on the Veranda! very friendly staff! Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Benedikt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
4.3 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Guest Lodge

Property: Abalone Guest Lodge
Address: 306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abalone Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone Lodge, situated on the magnificent ocean front of Hermanus. Abalone Guest Lodge offers luxury accommodation for travel, business or leisure. Abalone Guest Lodge has direct access to the well-known Scenic Cliff Path that makes Hermanus the Land Base Whale Watching Capital of the World. Abalone Guest Lodge is situated on Siever’s Point, a landmark seafront position midway between the town centre and the beautiful Blue Flag beaches of Hermanus. We recently added a sauna treatment room and gym for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you to our tastefully decorated en-suite accommodation that offers you every luxury as well as unrivalled views of the ocean and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abalone Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone Guest Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing