We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abalone Guest Lodge
Ranked #11 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Abalone Lodge almost reminded me of home...really great spot close to the wonderful cliff walk, very friendly service and loved the little lounge area! The gym helped a bit to rid some of the calories I acquired at the restaurants :D Will be back!

Room Tip: I liked Room #2 - very nice view of the ocean and a lot of natural light! there are garden and sea f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stopped over in Hermanus for a night and found Abalone Guest Lodge after several of the previous Guesthouses did not answer their phones and gates. Abalone Guesthouse is very neat, comfortable and friendly. We had an amazing night's rest and had a delicious breakfast the next morning! Great value for money. We'll definitely be back to try the spa out next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked in for one night and extended our stay for another night as we enjoyed our accommodation so much.
The rooms are well appointed and spacious with attention to detail.
The breakfast was scrumptious and well presented.
Views are really lovely, I can recommend a nature walk through the fynbos along the ocean.

This is such a lovely guest lodge, really well worth visiting.
Staff was friendly and welcoming and we will definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrannyH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for two days and had a room with sea view. The rooms are lovely decorated and very cosy. The view from the balcony is wonderful. You can start a walk along the coast directly from the hotel. The pool deck is also very nice. I will return if I visit this area again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spuckie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

On Friday 21 March I spent the evening at the wonderful Abalone Guest Lodge in Hermanus - the welcome was warm, the explanation of how things worked, lucid and the accommodation quite splendid! Breakfast out on the patio on the Saturday morning was delightful and very enjoyable - I had asked for a Saturday Argus and it was waiting for me on the patio!

Room Tip: Room 9 was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTown075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A visit to the Abalone Lodge and Wellness Centre in Hermanus is a wonderful experience not to be missed. The lodge is very tranquil and just walking distance from the ocean. The Spa is small but the treatments is off hight quality. I can really recommend it

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I would highly recommend this Guest House to anyone looking for a few nights stay in Hermanus. Especially those intending to play golf when the course is within a few hundred yards. We were made very welcome and staff went out of their way to accommodate our early start times for golf. Very friendly atmosphere, very comfortable accomodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
725 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
964 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.9 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Guest Lodge

Address: 306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £143 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abalone Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone Lodge, situated on the magnificent ocean front of Hermanus. Abalone Guest Lodge offers luxury accommodation for travel, business or leisure. Abalone Guest Lodge has direct access to the well-known Scenic Cliff Path that makes Hermanus the Land Base Whale Watching Capital of the World. Abalone Guest Lodge is situated on Siever’s Point, a landmark seafront position midway between the town centre and the beautiful Blue Flag beaches of Hermanus. Facilities such as sauna, treatment room and gym for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you to our tastefully decorated en-suite accommodation that offers you every luxury as well as unrivalled views of the ocean and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Abalone Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone Guest Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing