We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Homely Apartment in a magnificent setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bayview Hermanus

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hermanus, Overstrand, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Vin M
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Homely Apartment in a magnificent setting”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked to return in 2018. The walk to town along the cliff path was superb and the ready access to a supermarket and petrol station was useful. Sitting in the conservatory just watching the sea is what a holiday is about. There are plenty of outstanding wioneries within easy reach, many with excellent restaurants.

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Hi Vin,
thanks so much for the kind comments and glad you had such a good holiday
We look forward to welcoming you again this time next year!
All the best
Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjlHerts
herts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous view from a large balcony”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Well equipped apartment on the top floor overlooking the ocean. The balcony is enclosed but can be the front part of the windows can be opened. An easy 15 minutes walk to shops and excellent restaurants. A short drive to beaches, pretty villages and nature reserve. Spa supermarket across the road which sells most things.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Dear Jane,
thanks so much for taking the time to review the property.
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful town and area.
Have a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
All the best
Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovettjea...
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect Hermanus location.”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Bayview is a very spacious, comfortable apartment with probably one of the best views in Hermanus. The views over Walker Bay from the sea lounge are fantastic and it it is very hard to drag yourself away from watching the waves crashing over the rocks. Totally relaxing.
The apartment is really handy for the Eastcliffe shops just across the road and it is a very pleasant walk in to Hermanus along the cliff path. The choice of restaurants is excellent and we enjoyed some great meals and wonderful wines.
The apartment is well equipped and Philip , the owner was extremely helpful in giving us lots of information prior to our visit. We were so pleased to have found Bayview and we hope to return.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the sea lounge
Liked least: nothing really . A larger TV would have been good .
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
Thank you Jean for your kind words - it's so heartening to be able to share our little spot of "heaven on earth" with like minded souls. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Have a happy Christmas. Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
247LiveLi...
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
832 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is now my second time to stay at Bayview! Wonderful location, and with all the conveniences that a holiday maker could want. The basic items like coffee and tea and even biscuits are available. It is extremely comfortable, and difficult to find the energy to go for the lovely walks along the rocks, as the place is just so lovely, you don't want to go out! My only complaint is that the whales were obviously cross with me as they didn't come and say hello!

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
Thank you for these kind words from our "frequent flier" always a pleasure to welcome you. And we look forward to hosting many more times over the coming years! Muito obrigado! Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Could have stayed forever!”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Awesome view of Walker Bay from the spacious, glassed in verandah. It was lovely to open the large, sliding windows and enjoy the cool, sea breeze. Beautiful, short walk along the cliff path into town and a spar right across the road. Spacious, comfortable apartment with a well equipped kitchen, good bathrooms and comfortable beds with lovely linen. Just perfect for our family of 4.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the patio
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Hi Jenny, thanks for the lovely tribute! Looking forward to seeing you back here again very soon. All the best. Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

304 Bayview is in a stunning location! It's the ideal spot for whale watching as well as being within easy walking distance of Hermanus town centre. The scenic cliff path is almost on the doorstep.

Date of stay: September 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thanks Brian for the positive response. We look forward to welcoming you again and will be buying a proper TV this coming month! Safe journey home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alecandly...
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A wonderful visit”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Five star accommodation and location in all respects. Everything you need for a perfect break with family or friends

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just like home
Liked least: The whales were too reluctant to show themselves!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thanks Very much Alex and Lyn for your comments, So glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. Hope to see you again soon! Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.