We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloe Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$125
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$77
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$596
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
132
31
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
31
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housefamily suitecape townhomemade biscuitslike coming homemade us feel at homewonderful hostswithin walking distanceperfect staythank you very muchgarden routeone night stayspacious roomsouth africalovely placeleslieaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Aloe House for 3 nights on the 1st June 2014. Warm, inviting, friendly and homey, Leslie and John (and the ever faithful Harry the basset hound) run a small establishment that makes you feel that you are the most special and welcome guest of the guest house.
It has a limited number of rooms, all beautifully furnished with little personal touches of home made biscuits to welcome you.
Breakfast is made and served hot upon your request.
One of the most lovely places on Hermanus, well priced and definitely worth every moment.
Thank you John and Les for a lovely stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank VTRAJAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Enjoyed staying with Leslie and John for two nights. Excellent hospitality. Fantastic rooms, all clean and fresh with good character. Nice food with pleasant surroundings, looking forward to coming back next year. Would recommend to anyone visiting Hermanus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Alan, thank you for taking the time to review Aloe House. John and I look forward to your return in 2015. Take care and keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had the great pleasure of staying at the Aloe guest house.
Superb room for our family and fantastic hospitality from John,Leslie and staff.
Nothing seemed to be any trouble.

The house is so central that all you have to do is get there and then let Hermanus and its magic take its effect.

#relaxed

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcosseCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for your high praise of Hermanus . We a are pleased that You, Michele, Grace & Callum enjoyed your stay with us it is the least we can do to make you as comfortable as possible. Hope Hermanus can expect you and your Family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had the pleasure of staying with Leslie and John for two nights, a week back.
Highly recommended. Super rooms, all with aspects around the pool. Great breakfast but unit-be-lieva-ble hospitality unmatched anywhere else we stayed up the coast. Nothing was too much trouble.
Lovely to meet a couple who know and love their hometown so much - thanks to both for helping make our trip so special.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your valued review, John. Our guest's reviews help us understand their needs and expectations when travelling. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Aloe House soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Aloe for a quick break after holidays with the kids. First time ever we were welcomed at the front door by owners of a guesthouse. Thank you John and Lesley for your hospitality. The room was clean and well equiped even with homemade biscuits! We really enjoyed every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lize J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Aloe House, Lize. We are happy that your experience was such a positive one and we look forward to welcoming you and Wilhelm back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews