We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I beg to differ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Harbour Rock

The Harbour Rock
Ranked #12 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I beg to differ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

November 2013.
Visited with friends who live locally -one of their favourites.
Had a good meal, well served by friendly staff.
Reasonable selection of dishes and wine you can bring your own. Hermanus has a good selection of restaurants. So to be outstanding you have to do something special.

Overall a pleasant eating experience and worth a visit for good value honest food.
Did not eat outside so cannot comment

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puchacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    381
    123
    48
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Harbour Rock is known to be a classy expensive restaurant with great food. On arrival we politely asked to have a table at the window, and host sarcastically said “Doesn’t everyone" that was very unnecessary. I actually felt like going someone where else. I found their sea food platter to be a huge disappointment. The oil definitely needed changing; the fish batter was drenched in old oil. No sauces were served with the platter leaving everything to taste like old oil. Peels of cucumber were placed in the salad which I can only image they peeled the cucumber for their sushi and placed the skins in the salad. I wish I had taken a photo of the amount of oil left on the plate afterwards. I will not recommend eating at the restaurant to anyone and will definitely not be going there for a meal again; I also feel the staff needs to create a more welcoming and friendly atmosphere around the restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

It seems to have gone down hill since we ate there two years ago. Service was terrible, over an hour to first course. No apparent reason and no apology. Food was average, but rather poor by standards of competition. Overall about the weakest of the dozen dinners of this visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a fabulous meal at Harbour Rock, which we came across by mistake! The food was excellent, service equally so and the views were beautiful. Well recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the place we were staying. The location was fantastic but unfortunately the food did not live up to our expectations. Waitress had too many tables to attend and service was slow. Some of the courses were great, others disappointing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harbour Rock also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Harbour Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing