We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistant good food and service”
Review of The Harbour Rock

The Harbour Rock
Ranked #11 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: Sushi, African, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistant good food and service”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The food is always good standard. The service is great.
We visit it once a year the last couple of years or rather since it opened and is always enjoyable and the setting and Management, great. Pricing reasonable.Atmosphere always great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank susandph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    386
    122
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good food and service, stunning view and lovely atmosphere. Have eaten there many times and haven't had a bad experience yet.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneMoore765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning View”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As we are from JHB We love Seafood , Harbour Rock provided us with the most tastefull sushi dishes we had in a long time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Valentine with a slight crack in the heart.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Well set up and spacious. Food selection was very good and varied wait staff were very good and helpful. The barkeep needs to learn mixology. I will go back the food was above average in many respects and I want to try other offerings here. Price wise it is hard to say since this was a special for Valentines day and as such was particularly good value.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Netscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Sushi and Thai food with Style!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This unusual restaurant combining Japanese, Thai and South African cuisine has incredible views, an eclectic very varied menu, a nice ambience and great service. We had a wonderful experience here. We ordered lots of sushi, thai salads and had a wonderful dinner. It was 5-star in the sushi category. Service was friendly and attentive. Everything was well prepared and beautifully presented – lots of color. We would definitely return for more! Dinner for 4 with wine, tip and lots of sushi and salads was very reasonable (R840).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pvfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harbour Rock also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Harbour Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing