We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up close with the Elephants”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knysna Elephant Park Lodge
Ranked #18 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
UAE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Up close with the Elephants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is an amazing experience with the Elephants. The rooms are beautiful, and they are all located off a common lounge that looks out over the elephants sleeping pens. We walked with the elephants in the evening and again in the morning, watched them be ridden, and fed them. We also enjoyed a galls of wine in the lounge while we watched them sleep. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity.

We drove to Knysna for dinner (20kms) and enjoyed some of the increible local seafood, however we have breakfast at the lodge. The food was delicious, and very very reasonbly priced.

The staff were very helpful, and very knowledgeable. A must stay in Knysna.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BexUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Spending a night with the Ellies was a dream come true. The rooms in the lodge are extremely comfortable and set around the Elephant's Boma where they come in to sleep at night. The main lounger overlooks this area and our room (Harry's Room) also had a window where we could watch the Ellies from. We also booked a sunset ride and the pleasure of riding on Clyde and Shaka followed by a lovely 3 course meal in the restaurant.

We were up again next morning to take the Ellies out at 6.30 and spent another hour or so with them before breakfast. This was one of the highlights of our holiday and we highly recommend that if you can you must spend at least one night sleeping with the Ellies. You might not get much sleep but it is an amazing experience. The guys at KEP do an amazing job in looking after these wonderful creatures and educating the public about them.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
158 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

A stunning experience. A night in the elephant boma should be on everyone's bucket list. The time with the elephants was the highlight of the Garden Route.

The lodge is great, rooms large and tidy...but it's all about the boma here. Guests have 24 hour access to the lounge to watch the elephants come in and feed each evening and bed down. Your room is just outside and the sounds of the elephants shuffling about outside is cathartic..

Enjoy morning strolls with (or on!) the elephants and take a great deal of comfort being with expert handlers. If you have any attraction to these amazing animals, do not miss this.

Room Tip: The lodge is large but pay for the boma experience...a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

The highlight of our trip to South Africa was most definately our overnight stay at Knysna Elephant Sanctuary. From arriving in the mid afternoon and the childrens delight in finding elephant shaped chocolates on their beds, to hand feeding the elephants it was magical.
After dinner at a nearby restaurant, ZinZi, we returned to have hot chocolate while sitting wrapped in blankets on the sofas in the lounge area above the elephants overnight indoor accommodation.
An early morning start, 630hrs, which wasn't a problem as the elephants are not quiet eaters and we rode on the elephants for their early morning walk. Words cannot describe it, the coolness of the morning sitting on an elephant and the sun coming up.
Afterwards, breakfast in the cafe.....excellent value and we purchased the video of the Elephant Walk, brilliant. Cousins from Cape Town accompanied us and did not know the Sanctuary existed... it is now on their Must Do List for future guests.

Room Tip: Just stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warts26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Everything about the Elephant Park is amazing. The staff are brilliant, the location is stunning, accommodation spotless and comfortable - not to mention the fascinating stars of the show - the elephants. The experience of staying in the lodge is one not to be missed because you can visit the elephants' sleeping quarters as often as you like at night and you enjoy the wonderful thrill of walking out with them at sunrise and witnessing their training session with the guides. I never thought I'd get so close to an African elephant and feel so safe. It was a real eye-opener and a huge learning experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BergenZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights. The room was modern and lovely and you must stay in room 1 as we had 3 windows looking down directly where the elephants sleep at night in the boma. (even our bathroom) There is also a beautiful communal lounge where you can go and see them sleeping at night, (coffee & tea and sofas provided), but our room 1 was an even better view! The most noise the elephants made was when they were eating, but their noise didn't keep us awake (wouldn't care if it did); were awoken at 5:30 by a truck of workers coming in and all talking. Was so wonderful to sit out on the verandah during the day and watch the elephants out grazing in the lovely surroundings. Taking the tram out to see them was amazing. You get to pet them and feed them a bucket of fruit and it is so worth the price to take an elephant ride. These elephants have all been rescued or were abandoned and they are treated with the UTMOST CARE. You can tell the elephants love the handlers and the handlers love the elephants. The ride on the elephant was something we'll never forget. Definitely worth every dollar!! There's a tall platform that the elephants come to as to make it easier for you to get on, but the handlers will always give you further assistance should you need it. Almost an hour's ride around the lovely property at a nice pace (there was a group of 3 elephants on our tour) with a handler on the front and you sit behind him centering yourself; no threat of falling off if you keep yourself in the middle! Having the elephants stop for a drink of water was cool. The handlers are truly caring and wonderful with these amazing creatures. (Buy the video they take of you on the ride; so, so worth it)

The one thing that is very important to know if you stay overnight here, and certainly hope you do, is that the restaurant closes by 5:30pm so having transportation is a must as there are no eateries, etc. within walking distance . A not too far drive to a place called Zinzi's was very nice on lovely grounds, for dinner. (As there is no mini-market or anywhere close by where you can get a sandwich or snacks/juice/soft drinks etc., we thought by them having 1 or 2 vending machines would be a great idea.) Also, on the first night we were there, we were the only guests staying overnight and as reception closes at 5:30 as well as the restaurant, we were pretty sure there were no other staff members at the place as we sure never saw anyone (except for the elephant's workers - 24 hours there were always a few guys down below cleaning, feeding, and taking good care of the elephants.) The staff that we met during the day were really wonderful.

Except for a few glitches that I mentioned, I would absolutely, positively 100% recommend staying here and experiencing the elephants . I guarantee it will be one of the highlights of your life!!!!

Room Tip: Room # 1 is a must!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Stayed 2 nights. The idea of this Lodge is to experience the elephants and I can't imagine it being better anywhere else. Being able to watch the elephants from the lounge that is a few meters from the elephants is awesome, watch all night if you like. The life and care given to these huge animals is 5 star therefore anyone staying here has a 10 star experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champagne42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
0.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Elephant Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Elephant Park Lodge

Property: Knysna Elephant Park Lodge
Address: N 2 National Road, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing