We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf en route to Cape Town”
Review of Leisure Isle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leisure Isle Lodge
Ranked #17 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We really enjoyed this charming lodge. The staff were excellent and the restaurant worked well for the whole family. This was a perfect place to spend a couple of days along the garden route, we found 2 fabulous quality golf courses, a place to take an evening walk with a couple of cheetahs and one to walk hand in trunk with an elephant. Even when it rained cats and dogs one afternoon the fantastic collection of DVDs and on site spa meant that we had a relaxing time just chilling out before continuing our journey south.

Room Tip: If we stayed again we would ask about a view to the front (lagoon)
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank DJBmalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

A mandatory pit stop in the garden route. Excellent. The meals are fantastic and also the atmosphere of the Lodge. However, the ambient music should be changed since it is always the same (breakfast, dinner, etc).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricardo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have to give thanks to Erene, Chris and Innocence - you guys rocked and totally made our stay awesome. We arrived late on a Saturday evening and was check in my Chris who "like magic" had our attention on ice cold mango juice - perfect for the super hot day - while our bags magicked themselves to our rooms. Chris informed us of some options like free bikes and free canoes that we can use and showed us the dinner menu. We had pre-booked dinner elsewhere but after the scrumptious breakfast overlooking the Lagoon I will definitely book in for dinner next time.
The rooms were tastefully decorated and my husband and I had room 4 with a magnificent view of the lagoon. We thought being able to hear those at the Bar might make it hard for us to fall asleep however by the time we closed our door there was no sound to be heard. I slept like a log on a wonderful bed with upscale linen! Our friends had room 8 which made sitting by the pool just a short step. They too loved the set up of their room and commented on the upscale bedding and towels supplied.
The welcome Sherry in the room was also a nice little touch along with the fresh fruit and water.
Our stay was more than I could have imagined and I will remember it for a long time and will make sure I always recommend you to friends and families who are looking for an awesome night away!!
And my husband wanted to make sure I mention that the Showers at this place is FANTASTIC!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerRoyalHickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were happy to stay at this pleasant Lodge after the long drive from Cape Town.
We were welcomed by friendly staff who were happy to attend to our needs. As it
was a late booking we did not get a room in the main building but the room we were
allocated was spacious and quiet. We only had a shower and I was really looking forward
to a hot bath as it was a miserable wet evening. Nonetheless we would return here should
we be back in Knysna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very relaxed stay & friendly staff. Dinner & Breakfast was exceptional! Can not wait to return.
Great views and walks to be enjoyed. Located on Leisure Island and close to the only beach on the Island.

Room Tip: I had a pool room, but would have loved an ocean view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharneLoftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My Wife and I were booked in for weekend, but on arrival found that our booking was only done for one night, and not the two nights booked via e-mail! This after driving through to Knysna from Cape town. The day manager, on the Saturday morning, however came to the rescue. How she got this right I still don't know, as this guest house was fully booked when we arrived Friday afternoon. She bumped us up into the one of the luxury top floor suits. That made our weekend.The breakfasts each morning were also above average.

Room Tip: Make sure of your booking before arriving to avoid disappointment. Try and book one of the two upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were a family of 15 staying at Leisure Isle Lodge over New Year, for 5 nights. We could not have asked for a better stay. The lodge is beautiful with lovely decor and comfy furnishings. The staff were absolutely wonderful and could not have done enough for us. They made us feel right at home, were so friendly, fantastic with our children and went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. The Lodge has beach chairs, umbrellas and canoes to use on the beach, bicycles (which had seen better days!) to use around the Island and a very amenable chef. Breakfast was lovely, with fresh fruit smoothies and a great menu selection.
We ate lunch and dinner once at the lodge and both meals were really good. The Lodge is situated just across from the nicest beach on the Island and the views were lovely. There's a nice pool area which is shaded and also very relaxing. We had 6 suites, a mixture of lagoon and garden view. All were lovely, large and airy. Room 5, the junior garden room is the only small room. Good enough for our teenagers, but maybe not so for 2 adults if you can afford to take something better. Leisure Isle is definitely the nicest place to stay around Knysna and we enjoyed being there more so than Plettenberg! It felt very safe and very special. All in all, a fabulous stay. Can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee00130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#14 of 127 in Knysna
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 127 in Knysna
328 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Head Over Hills
Head Over Hills
#8 of 127 in Knysna
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Isle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Isle Lodge

Address: 87 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £125 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Isle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the picturesque tranquil Bollard Bay on Leisure Isle,this luxury retreat offers sophisticated style and exceptional comfort. Spacious,individually decorated,suites,luxurious touches,soft,fine,linen quietly whispering romance.Delicious breakfasts served on the deck overlooking the lagoon. Enjoy exciting,contemporary cuisine,complemented with quality wines in the Top 100 awarded Restaurant Daniela's. Be pampered in The Skin Renewal Spa which specializes in Dermatological treatments. Guests' enjoy member privileges and Pezula & Simola golf courses. 2008 Winner AA Superior accommodation awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Leisure Isle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Isle Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing