We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Knysna”
Review of Leisure Isle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leisure Isle Lodge
Ranked #19 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dalston, Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Knysna”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you are looking for luxury with the best views on the Garden Route, then this is the place to stay. We only had time for 3 nights, but the comfortable and quality made us feel that we did not want to leave.

We have no hesitation in giving the top rating. We know others that have stayed at Leisure Isle Lodge and they all say the same. Yes, it is expensive, but you get what you pay for.

The staff were most helpful and contributed to a memorable time on the Garden Route.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    49
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
152
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

There’s a lot to be said for Leisure Isle Lodge – the friendly welcome, the large, clean rooms and the fantastic bathrooms. The staff were attentive and helpful, and there were nice touches like finding that our car had been cleaned overnight. Breakfasts were also of a really high standard.

We had one dinner in the hotel’s restaurant – all good, but we found better food and better service for much less money by heading out into Knysna. There’s not a lot on Leisure Isle itself, and though it’s nice to spend a bit of time wandering around it does have the feel of being something of a retirement village about it.

Overall, it’s a great place to stay. But it was also the most expensive hotel we used during our holiday and it would be hard to justify the extra expense for the few small extras that other places didn’t offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perchtoldsdorf, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We could really enjoy the very friendly athmosphere of this lodge, the attentive and professional staff. The excellent cuisine should be mentioned as further highlight. The Lagoon area will provide lot of nice activities and places to see. Weather conditions were not really convenient (one sunny and two partly rainy days), however, we could enjoy each and every hour of our stay. Some details (lighting of the bathroom, e.g.) would require an improvement, otherwise very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNikolics49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We really enjoyed this charming lodge. The staff were excellent and the restaurant worked well for the whole family. This was a perfect place to spend a couple of days along the garden route, we found 2 fabulous quality golf courses, a place to take an evening walk with a couple of cheetahs and one to walk hand in trunk with an elephant. Even when it rained cats and dogs one afternoon the fantastic collection of DVDs and on site spa meant that we had a relaxing time just chilling out before continuing our journey south.

Room Tip: If we stayed again we would ask about a view to the front (lagoon)
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DJBmalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A mandatory pit stop in the garden route. Excellent. The meals are fantastic and also the atmosphere of the Lodge. However, the ambient music should be changed since it is always the same (breakfast, dinner, etc).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have to give thanks to Erene, Chris and Innocence - you guys rocked and totally made our stay awesome. We arrived late on a Saturday evening and was check in my Chris who "like magic" had our attention on ice cold mango juice - perfect for the super hot day - while our bags magicked themselves to our rooms. Chris informed us of some options like free bikes and free canoes that we can use and showed us the dinner menu. We had pre-booked dinner elsewhere but after the scrumptious breakfast overlooking the Lagoon I will definitely book in for dinner next time.
The rooms were tastefully decorated and my husband and I had room 4 with a magnificent view of the lagoon. We thought being able to hear those at the Bar might make it hard for us to fall asleep however by the time we closed our door there was no sound to be heard. I slept like a log on a wonderful bed with upscale linen! Our friends had room 8 which made sitting by the pool just a short step. They too loved the set up of their room and commented on the upscale bedding and towels supplied.
The welcome Sherry in the room was also a nice little touch along with the fresh fruit and water.
Our stay was more than I could have imagined and I will remember it for a long time and will make sure I always recommend you to friends and families who are looking for an awesome night away!!
And my husband wanted to make sure I mention that the Showers at this place is FANTASTIC!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerRoyalHickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were happy to stay at this pleasant Lodge after the long drive from Cape Town.
We were welcomed by friendly staff who were happy to attend to our needs. As it
was a late booking we did not get a room in the main building but the room we were
allocated was spacious and quiet. We only had a shower and I was really looking forward
to a hot bath as it was a miserable wet evening. Nonetheless we would return here should
we be back in Knysna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 127 in Knysna
531 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Isle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Isle Lodge

Property: Leisure Isle Lodge
Address: 87 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Isle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the picturesque tranquil Bollard Bay on Leisure Isle,this luxury retreat offers sophisticated style and exceptional comfort. Spacious,individually decorated,suites,luxurious touches,soft,fine,linen quietly whispering romance.Delicious breakfasts served on the deck overlooking the lagoon. Enjoy exciting,contemporary cuisine,complemented with quality wines in the Top 100 awarded Restaurant Daniela's. Be pampered in The Skin Renewal Spa which specializes in Dermatological treatments. Guests' enjoy member privileges and Pezula & Simola golf courses. 2008 Winner AA Superior accommodation awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Leisure Isle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Isle Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing