We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quiet getaway..”
Review of Leisure Isle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leisure Isle Lodge
Ranked #20 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place for a quiet getaway..”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It is May - winter for SA, and things are quiet here. Where is everyone? We are winding up a month long trip through Zambia, Botswana and South Africa. We've been baked, fried, and served. We've been spoilt with 3 course meals and hiked for 8 hours a day...a delightful blend of service and serve yourself.
We can't thank Cher and her team enough for a great ending to our trip. Innocent, Chris and the serving staff did a great job anticipating our needs and allowing our guests to make the lodge their own.
Of course, we will await the news of Cher's baby - the best that life can offer!
Re the room choice, I would recommend paying whatever the upcharge is to get the view and the delightful soaker tub which you can enjoy with the massive selection of magazines. Wish I had spirited a few away - the SAs know a thing or two about design.

Room Tip: And the massage was excellent after the Dolphin Trail hike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemyjob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    49
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
151
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spending 4 nights at this beautiful, picturesque, tranquil establishment has been the best thing we needed after doing the five day Otter Trail. We were warmly welcomed and shown around by their competent, friendly staff. Walking into our Junior Suite was like walking into paradise, with soft, beige, whites, brown & blues tones that make you want to sink into the luxury and forget it all. Dinners were a highlight with chefs specials from Karoo Lamb Shank to Seafood delights. And lets; not forget the well stock bar with choice South African Wines. Our view overlooked the Knysna lagoon where you can walk at leisure or use the Lodge's bikes or Kayaks to explore nature. I highly recommend picking up a magazine from their abundant collection and finding a spot in front of the fireplace and relax the afternoons away. And absolute must if you're traveling the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Any room, they all have awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaninedotPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our 2nd stay at the lodge was just as nice as the first time. Welcome drinks when you arrive,sherry and fruit in your room, all add to the extra touches which make this place a cut above the rest. Very friendly and helpful staff who assisted with restaurant reservations and local knowledge of the area. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds with underfloor heating and hot water bottles if the weather is chilly. Lovely spacious bathrooms as well with shower and bath big enough for two! Also made use of the spa facilities whilst we were there which was also really good. Looking out for next groupon so we can visit again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the best if you want a magnificent view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Leisure Isle Lodge as a stop over point on the Garden Route. What a lovely place it was. The room was well appointed with all the luxuries you needed for a very comfortable stay. Beautiful bathroom with bath and shower and to top it all a very comfortable bed with great linen. I would most certainly recommend this lodge for your next break or stop over in Knysna.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I felt Leisure Isle Lodge was a real find especially with their winter special (book 2 days and get 1 free). We were delighted with the room upgrade that they gave us ... they are an establishment that over delivers! The staff were fabulous!! It was an outstanding experience in every way. The restaurant top class!

We did notice that there was a bit of maintenance needed in some parts ... and we were pleased to see that Leisure Isle Lodge were actually closing for a period in order to complete the necessary renovations. My husband & I would definitely recommend Leisure Isle Lodge to travellers!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were recommended this accomodation by friends in Port Elizabeth for a stopping point while travelling to Cape Town. We wish we had allocated more time rather than just the one night. The location is brilliant and the service first class. the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We dined in the restaurant and the food was also five star. Breakfast of beautiful smoke salmon and poached eggs was the ideal start for the drive South.
Highly recommended and very friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinso51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place. The bedrooms are very spacious and well appointed. Downstairs rooms have a patio where you can enjoy the sunset over yhe lake and enjoy a glass of wine. Ask for a lakeside room. There is a poolside room...no privacy. Make sure to have dinner at their restaurant. The best I had in ages.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suedany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
1.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
2.6 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
18.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Isle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Isle Lodge

Property: Leisure Isle Lodge
Address: 87 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Isle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the picturesque tranquil Bollard Bay on Leisure Isle,this luxury retreat offers sophisticated style and exceptional comfort. Spacious,individually decorated,suites,luxurious touches,soft,fine,linen quietly whispering romance.Delicious breakfasts served on the deck overlooking the lagoon. Enjoy exciting,contemporary cuisine,complemented with quality wines in the Top 100 awarded Restaurant Daniela's. Be pampered in The Skin Renewal Spa which specializes in Dermatological treatments. Guests' enjoy member privileges and Pezula & Simola golf courses. 2008 Winner AA Superior accommodation awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Leisure Isle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Isle Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing