We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great service...”
Review of Bridgewater Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridgewater Manor
Ranked #2 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great place, great service...”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Perfect villa, surrounded by trees and flowers in a vey nice area of Knysna, close to everything. Absolutely lovely, with an excellent dining room, big living room. My own room was perfect, big and modern, plus with a very nice bathroom. All very stylish and elegant. The garden below the house is also wonderful, and in the middle of it is a swimming pool, nice and clean, and larger than usual in this kind of places. The view from my room was amazing. The breakfast was served by Vee who is in charge of the whole villa, very nice and friendly person. It was really a great pleasure to stay there. If there is anything negative - the road is rather close and noise can be heard... Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
128
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice place to stay and and is within walking distance of the town. The rooms have wonderful views of the lagoon. We had the studio room which was nicely decorated and very clean. We enjoyed our 2 night stay very much and found Vee to be a warm and welcoming hostess.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClaireFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a fabulous welcome we got from 'Vee' when we arrived after a long drive from Hermanus. Bridgewater Manor is situated in beautiful grounds overlooking Knysna Bay.
Vee provided fabulous breakfasts and recommended some wonderful restaurants and a Taxi to take us to and from the eatery at night.
Rooms were very comfortable with good amenities.
I would highly recommend this as a peacful place to stay in Knysna

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lovely guest house situated in a good sot in Knysna. The manager Vee is very helpful and will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Beautiful breakfast and great amenities in the room. Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Bridgewater Manor is just a beautiful place to stay! Our room was spacious and felt quite luxurious, even though I guess ours was not one of the best in the manor since it was facing the garden. The manager, Vee, made us feel welcome and gave us some good restaurant recommendations. She told us on the night we arrived that they have a great breakfast, and I have to say she was correct! There is a pool in the garden, but as it was quite cold when we were there we never used it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Bridgewater is in a very nice quiet location. It is set well back from the busy main road which means you don't get any traffic noise at all. It is slightly up a hill which gives it gorgeous views across the lagoon. It is only about a 15/20 minute walk to the Waterfront area where there are a lot of restaurants and the marina is there as well. (You can get a taxi if you prefer). It is safe to walk back to the hotel at night if you want to. We paid a little extra for the honeymoon room and it was certainly worth it. (You don't have to be on your honeymoon to book it !). It is such a beautiful, bright, modern, large room with a balcony and the views out to the Knysna Heads and Lagoon are outstanding. The manager, Vee, was absolutely brilliant ! She has such a warm personality and does everything she can to make sure you are enjoying your stay. She gave us a recommendation for dinner at JJ's at the Waterfront which was excellent. She also recommended an excursion to the Featherbed Nature Reserve which is at the far side of the Knysna Lagoon and we enjoyed it so much - the scenery was so beautiful. We stayed for 2 nights which meant we had one full day in Knysna so in the morning we drove out to the Knysna Heads and walked along the path which has dramatic views of where the lagoon meets the Indian Ocean and also you look out across to the Featherbed Nature Reserve where in the afternoon we took a half day excursion - a perfect day !. Cannot fault this hotel and Vee and her staff really make you feel so welcome. The breakfasts are excellent !

Room Tip: The honeymoon room has the best view of the lagoon and the heads - there are no trees to block any p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Bridgewater Manor was a pleasure to stay in. Vee, the manager, is absolutely lovely and made us feel so at home. She upgraded up free of charge to the honeymoon suite which was stunning. The place is beautifully clean with modern decor, the views from the balcony looking over the lagoon were incredible and the food was fab. It's about a 15 minute walk to Kynsna harbour (which I probably wouldn't recommend in the dark) which is great with an incredible array of seafood restaurants, we had our first ever raw oyster here. Would definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater Manor

Property: Bridgewater Manor
Address: 33 Circular Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewater Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bridgewater Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing