We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, even lovelier host”
Review of Bridgewater Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bridgewater Manor
Ranked #4 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Bridgewater Manor is a lovely place to stay in Knysna. Our host Vee was truly fantastic - welcoming us, helping to book activities, genial, warm and extremely friendly. The guest house is extremely homely - our room looked over the lagoon, it was spacious and the bathroom was fantastic. As British gay travellers you can often feel vulnerable in some places where you stay, but our welcome at Bridgewater Manor and the way we were looked after was brilliant and very warm - highly recommended. Good value too.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks over the lagoon on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here with my family in Feb for just one night to break our journey from Cape Town to Addo.
Knysna is a beautiful area.
The property is in a quiet area elevated looking out over the lagoon with great views.
We arrived a little late but Vee organized a restaurant for us very quickly along with a taxi with a very nice and knowledgeable taxi driver who walked us right to the restaurant door.
The restaurant was 34 South on the waterfront and we had a great meal very reasonable priced.
The rooms were very nice and comfortable, very clean and with everything you could want. Breakfast was good and efficiently organized by Vee and we set off for Addo refreshed and relaxed.
I can highly recommend this lovely place to stay and hopefully we will be back sometime to explore more of what Knysna has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighlandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Out of all the places we stopped this was the best. Friendly, lovely house,great facilities wonderful breakfast. Sorry we did not stop longer. Only downside too far to walk to the waterfront where all the restaurants are.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The house, the room and the pool area are wonderful. From our balcony we had a fantastic view over the Knysna lagune. Unfortunately at night you can hear the noise from the N2, especially the trucks are very noisy. Apart from the noise we can fully recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaunusFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Amazing place to stay, we couldn't have asked for more! Vee the host offers a wonderful experience, is a great source of knowledge and super helpful. Room was immaculate with breathtaking views. We loved ever minute and didn't want to leave. Couldn't recommend highly enough and we would definitely hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Pay for a lagoon view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_and_Tom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Perfect villa, surrounded by trees and flowers in a vey nice area of Knysna, close to everything. Absolutely lovely, with an excellent dining room, big living room. My own room was perfect, big and modern, plus with a very nice bathroom. All very stylish and elegant. The garden below the house is also wonderful, and in the middle of it is a swimming pool, nice and clean, and larger than usual in this kind of places. The view from my room was amazing. The breakfast was served by Vee who is in charge of the whole villa, very nice and friendly person. It was really a great pleasure to stay there. If there is anything negative - the road is rather close and noise can be heard... Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a very nice place to stay and and is within walking distance of the town. The rooms have wonderful views of the lagoon. We had the studio room which was nicely decorated and very clean. We enjoyed our 2 night stay very much and found Vee to be a warm and welcoming hostess.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ClaireFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 108 in Knysna
352 reviews
11.8 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 23 in Sedgefield
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater Manor

Address: 33 Circular Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £82 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewater Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Bridgewater Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing