We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #2 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I brought two overseas colleagues for a visit Knysna, and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The property is beautifully cared for, and the huts are well equipped. Forest's Edge is situated right next to the Goudveld reserve, where one can hike up the beautiful Jubilee Creek to swim in the mountain pools or visit the massive indigenous trees. We didn't see any Big Feet this time around, but we'll be back :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stefanvdwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    35
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
176
249
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stilbaai, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The romantic tranquility and peacefulness of Forest Edge makes for an unforgettable stay. The little corrugated iron chalets are truly quaint and charming. Ronel (the landlady), has put a lot of thought and effort into making your stay comfortable. I loved the hammock on the stoep!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Get out into the country, lovely gardened self-catering, separate and peaceful accommodation, near Knysna, beaches and other interesting day visit attractions. Ronel, who runs the establishment is very courteous and goes the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one, the grandchildren enjoyed the play ground, the cows in the field next door and especially the visit to Ronel's veggie garden and collected fresh eggs for Grampa. 5*

Room Tip: All the accommodation is good and is well apart from each other and you have a lovely private garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff_Rose_JBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Frogy pond cottage and it was perfect. the out-door shower is a must. There is so much to do in the area, my recommendation is to just sit back with your favorite book and relax.

Be sure to take a bird book and a good pair of binoculars. Bird watching form the hammock is great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeRemotely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standerton, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

What a wonderful experience and privilege to stay right next to an indigenous forest, from which we have learnt so much in the book Fiela's Child, written by Daleen Mathee. The sounds, and the quietness, of the forest was awesome! We were excited about fireflies, and the outside shower was fun (especially for pensioners)! Ronel, thank you for spoiling us daily with fresh flowers in the living area, and, very kindly, with some of your own harvested pure honey!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kommetjie, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We loved the total peace of the setting combined with the fact that Knysna with all its amenities is easily accessible. The accommodation offers everything one needs for a comfortable stay with many extra thoughtful touches. Ronel is the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauveen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Most pleasant and refreshing trip in a long time. All was perfect even the weather. I wish we could've stayed longer. And so close to everything. Distance was not a problem. Service was great, accommodation well looked after. The walks in the forest and surroundings also a hit.We look forward to returning to our new home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
9.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
8.8 mi away
Belvidere Manor
Belvidere Manor
#19 of 30 in Knysna
281 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 21 in Sedgefield
433 reviews
12.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 105 in Knysna
329 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Property: Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer in-cottage Continental Breakfast and breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing