We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in nature.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #2 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If I can make any travelers experience better in my beloved South Africa, I would be delighted.
Nested on the edge of the lovely Knysna Forest lies this tranquil and quaint resort.
Anyone that love the sound of frogs at dusk and the call of the robin early in the morning will find that this place is perfect. The gardens are neat and tidy. The staff are sensitive to the private visitor and one can rest ones soul here!
A Highly recommended retreat close to the forest, Knysna and the see.

The accommodation are cozy old-time foresters cottages with a pleasant atmosphere and a fireplace that will make any cold night a pleasant one.

For bird watchers and photographers, there it no better place to be.

Forest Edge have a meditation area for one that yearns for a spiritual moment.

This quiet place grabbed my heart as no other place has and I will be there again.

Room Tip: Ours was perfect. But so are the rest. Just go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atprins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Forest Edge is well managed and maintained. The cottages are well-equipped. The service we received from making the reservation to leaving was excellent. Ronel has made a lot of information about Forest Edge and the surrounding towns available to the guest before arrival and in the cottages. The hardest part of the holiday was deciding how to fit everything into the four nights we were at Forest Edge!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The cabin was fully equipped with everything you need the only this we had to take with was food, clothes an toiletries. We have really never enjoyed a vacation like we have at Forest Edge.

If yo want to get away from the business and madness of everyday life this is the place to go you truly come back so relaxed and spiritually for-filled.

Room Tip: We had the cabin on the far end of the property and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our stay at forest edge was truly magical from the start to the end Ronel is a wonderfull person with a heart of gold she was very helpful from the start. We enjoyed the walk with her and her amazing ridge backs, and hope to do it again soon! We stayed for 3 nights but wished we could stay longer we left with great sadness but will definatly go back soon I highly recommend forest edge! And rate it more than 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Forest Edge; our cottage was clean, comfortable and perfectly suited for relaxing in peace and quiet.

Forest Edge is easy enough to find, a short drive outside of Knysna. There’s nothing nearby that’s open in the evening for dinner, but the kitchen and braai are well equipped so there’s no need to go out if you bring food in. There was oil, salt and pepper provided which was a nice touch and you can order wood for the braai if you run out of what’s there when you arrive.

Our cottage had a good bathroom, though the shower is outside under the stars – it’s not a problem, unless you want a shower after sundown as there’s no light.

From just outside the main gate there’s a wonderful trail down to a river with pools to swim in, and one of the entries to the forest is a couple of miles up the road. And when you are done with walking, you can sit on the porch or lie in your hammock and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our 2-night stay at Forest Edge was well worth the visit and we hope to be coming back soon. Ronel welcomed us upon arrival with a friendly smile and a wealth of information on the area. We settled in to Fairy Den cottage, which is the furthest away and is also fenced. The cottage was tidy, well-equipped and all furnishings were very comfortable, not to mention the hammock. The grounds are well-tended, with a lovely garden and is very peaceful and quiet. The property has many safety features with an alarm system in each cottage, which is an added bonus. Our kids enjoyed the freedom of being able to walk and cycle around the property and loved the special trip to take out eggs and sample veggies straight from Ronel's large vegetable garden. Great forest walks are right on your doorstep. We visited Jubilee Creek for a picnic and did the 3km return forest walk, which even our 4 yr old easily managed. For young kids who love being outside, Forest Edge is absolutely ideal.

Room Tip: Fairy Den cottage is partially fenced and may be completely fenced to accommodate pets by prior arra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Serfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We loved every minute of our stay! We left Cape Town to escape the hustle and bustle of every day city life to submerge ourselves in the very best that nature has to offer....Forest Edge. Upon arrival we were greeted with a big smile by very friendly, staff who wasted no time in checking us in very efficiently, so that we can get right down to what we came for....rest and relaxation! We were lucky enough to stay in the beautiful Froggy Pond Cottage, which has a beautiful view of the forest as well as a pond filled with pretty water lilies. The cottage is very clean, neat, comfortable and cosy. The dvd drawer and the kitchen utensils are very well stocked - we never needed for anything! We really enjoyed how the cottage invites you to enjoy the outdoor living with its table & chairs and hammock on the porch, as well as an outdoor braai under the tree, next to the pond. The mornings found me with a mug of coffee in the hammock, and the afternoons with a glass of wine overlooking the braai from the hammock! :-) We braaied every evening and we ate all our meals outside at the table on the porch overlooking the forest and the pond. After dinner we curled up on the couches for a nice dvd in front of the fireplace before slipping into the very comfortable bed with electric blankets to help keep us warm. We will also recommend doing the hike to the beautiful Drupkelders natural rock pools for a swim, (which are just down the road from Forest Edge); as well as going for a picnic and a walking trail along the stunning Jubilee Creek ( which is just up the road from Forest Edge). After all this exercise there is nothing better that returning to your cottage for a nice soak in your deep Victorian bath, or taking an outdoor shower to then be followed by a nice massage on the porch of your cottage! This was truly an unforgettable and relaxing stay, where we were able to unwind properly while taking in the beauty of nature...We will definitely not wait this long a again to take a vacation, Forest Edge will definitely see us again! :-)

Room Tip: We recommend Froggy Pond Cottage, which has a beautiful view of the forest as well as a pond filled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
9.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
12.4 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 107 in Knysna
343 reviews
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 22 in Sedgefield
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
169 reviews
10.7 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#20 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
12.3 mi away
TwoAngels Guest House
TwoAngels Guest House
#8 of 107 in Knysna
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £48 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We also offer a traditional Breakfast and Dinner Buffet on our picturesque Lily Pond Deck. Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing