We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #2 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Very tightly run ship. Exceeds expectations and absolutely nothing to fault. On the edge of the forest as name suggests! Spotted Knysna Loerie near Jubilee and fireflies near froggy pond. Loved the fireplace and hammock! Thanks to lovely host Ronel for making us feel at home.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    30
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
172
238
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our stay at Forest Edge can only be described as pure bliss. Not only for the beautiful nature that surrounds you as far as the eye can see, but also for the wonderful accommodation provided. The lovely quaint cottages are immaculately kept, well equipped with everything you may need and very comfortably furnished. We were so impressed with the lovely garden and surrounds, also immaculately maintained and neat. Ronel gives great service and her attention to detail is truly amazing. She also provides so much information and history about this really special place on the Garden Route. If you need to unwind and relax in peaceful tranquility, Forest Edge is definitely the place to do it. It's like stepping into another world...

Room Tip: They are all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hectic-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This year was the fourth year that we've visited Forest Edge and every time we are reminded why we keep on returning. Where do I start...the attention to detail in the spotless cottage, exceptional service, beautiful garden, unbelievable star gazing evenings, outside shower, Hansel and Gretel, etc etc. Ronel manages to capture the magic of the forest and merges it into this piece of heaven that she has created. This is a truly magical place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPMaties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We returned to Forest Edge for a second visit which is a recommendation in itself. The cottage was spotless and every thought had been given to our comfort. As before, we received a friendly welcome and were given very helpful information regarding the area and forest walks. And the outside shower continues to delight! If you are looking for a peaceful getaway in a stunning area then Forest Edge is definitely a place to consider - you won't have cause to regret it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusannahvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were looking for a place that offered peacefulness, outdoor experience, romantic set-up and all within a reasonable price range.

That is exactly what we received and more, the staff was more than accommodating, beautiful scenery and cozy accommodation and we enjoyed every minute of our stay!

Would definitely recommend the Forest Edge to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Meditation, walks in the forest,the smell of firewood and fresh grass and trees in the morning(all that pure oxygen we crave in the city).I loved it. I felt like i was back to neanderthal times(with a modern twist on things). The shower outside is a unique signature, please dont ever change that. Oh and the hammock was also a hit. We are definitely coming back to Forest Edge.

Room Tip: Firefly is the closest to the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phelos s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Often I find great promises and under delivery when owners describe their establishment. Not so with Forest Edge Nature Lovers' Retreat. I loved finding exactly what was described and a little extra to boot. I loved that you listened to our request and did exactly that. We did not feel like a number but valued guests. There were little attentions to detail that did not go unnoticed - like the finer kindling that was supplied on top of each bag of wood and warm water in the outdoor shower.

Truly special!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jauckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
12.4 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#1 of 102 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
9.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
11.0 mi away
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Brenton on Sea Cottages
#1 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Property: Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Full Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing