We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place managed by a lovely man!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuningham's Island Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cuningham's Island Guest House
Ranked #62 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A lovely place managed by a lovely man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic trip of South Africa which included 3 nights at The Cuninghams Island Guest House.
The place is so peaceful and restfull, the rooms comfortable and the breakfast is tasty.
The staff are so helpfull and the boss (Tim Cuningham) is a lovely, friendly man for whom nothing is too much trouble.

My wife and I were on honeymoon and having found this out, he put together a fruit and cheese
platter for us going to extra trouble as he know I am a an insulin dependant diabetic.

This was our first time staying here but will certainly not be our last!!

Well done Tim and all your team and thank you for looking after us!

Kind regards
RH

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racing-Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    31
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
45
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was a last minute holiday and finding reasonably priced accommodation in Knysna was a challenge. We chose Cunningham's on the basis of price and its location on Leisure Island. The Island is a gem and well suited for those looking for peace and quiet and beautiful scenery,

Tim was a most genial host and gave us a great welcome. Throughout our stay, he and Deborah were more than prepared to go the extra mile with hints and tips about eating out, etc, and Deborah was kind enough to even lend us her bicycles. The staff are all helpful, cheerful and pleasant.

Our room was No 2 downstairs and it is located on the ground floor next to the front entrance which meant that unfortunately it was a bit like living in a goldfish bowl. Everyone could see directly into the room and boy, don't some guests love rubber necking! We ended up keeping the blinds closed most of the time, which was a pity.

The room itself was nicely decorated. On first impressions it looked very spick and span, but as it is mostly all done out in white, the challenges of keeping everything pristine came to the fore. The skirting areas really need a deep clean or a repaint. Our wardrobe door had the top latch hanging off and the bathroom was just very sad and dated. The grouting is grey and peeling and the shower door makes using the bath slightly awkward. Positively, the water pressure in the shower is good.

Our sofa had stains on one arm and was not the most comfy - it's probably ready to be a sofa in the sky!

Otherwise, the garden and pool area are a delight and the pool is well maintained and larger than photos suggest. Waking up the sound of birds singing was just lovely.

Breakfast was standard and nicely presented, but not as exceptional as other reviewers have commented.

Overall, we enjoyed the relaxed vibe of Cunninghams and it's location on Leisure Island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maija63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello Maija
Thanks so much for your constructive comments.
However had you mentioned the maintenance issues, which should not have occurred in the first place, they could have been dealt with immediately.
A note has been made of your other points & they are being attended to.
I wish you & your family a wonderful 2014.
Warm wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our second stop on the Garden Route and we were very impressed with both the quality of our room to the excellent breakfast. We spent three nights here in a superior room ( No 2) whilst we explored Knysna and the area. Tim our host had just come out of hospital, but we were well looked after by Deborah, his partner. Nothing was too much trouble, and the bar alongside the pool was an honesty bar where you just wrote down on a simple form what you had had. Breakfast was superb with both a cereal starter and a beautiful cooked course of scrambled egg, bacon and small tomatoes. Our room was spotless and cleaned every day. Deborah was only too pleased to make dinner reservations for you or order a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hello Mike
Thanks so much for such a positive comments.
I will pass these on to my staff & Debra as it is great motivation to them when our guests compliment their efforts.
I look forward to you returning at some stage in the future.
Warm wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Located on a small island reached via a causeway in the nicest part of the Knysna area and hosted by a welcoming host.
Our room (17) was simply fantastic spacious, beautifully decorated and most importantly very comfortable with a great bed.
The host, Tim, took the time to make sure we had everything we needed as well as made sure we were aware of the local food and attraction options.
Breakfast, cooked by Tim himself was perfect and served with decent coffee.
To add to all this our car was also wished for us which was a very nice touch
I would not hesitate to stay again if in the area as location, accommodation and hosting are all superb.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks so much for your positive response, it is always nice to know that we are doing the right thing & that our customers leave us as friends.
Warm wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This B&B can be found at Leisure Island, which is located close to the centre of Knysna. However, Leisure Island lives up to its name: it is a very peacefull and calm place, with a nice little botanical garden. A perfect location!

The hosts are friendly and helpfull, there is a nice breakfast with a delicious fruit salad and the house is beautiful (Victorian style) with a relaxing (small) garden. It has nice rooms, altough you have little privacy if you have a room on the ground floor. I would definately recommend thus place!

Room Tip: If possible, choose a room on the first floor, where you have your own terras and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miquette85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Had a lovely stay at Cunningham's and was very impressed with our accommodation which was very comfortable and spacious and right next to the pool area which is also very nice. The breakfast was excellent each morning with a nice selection of fresh fruit,yoghurts, cereals and then eggs how you like with bacon,mushroms and tomatoes.The staff were efficient and friendly and we loved the honesty bar where you can help yourself to drinks as and when and pay at the end of your stay. Very good value for money and we will definitely return. And a very special mention to the young man who cleaned our car every day-it was a most unexpected but fabulous surprise-thank you!
The smokehouse just along the road does amazing produce so if you like cheese,olives,pates etc give it a try.It's owned by a very nice Scottish gent called Simon McDonald.Next door is a very good place to eat called Bosun's Grill where we had a really good meal-pizza's are excellent! Unable to get a taxi at the end of the evening the manager took us in his own car-great service from very nice people.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerwhinger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuninghams, Front Office Manager at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Hi Gingerwhinger68
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
We value all comments from our guests to keep us on our toes.
Hopefully we meet again in the not too distant future.
Warm wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeyfeale, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had the pleasure of staying two nights recently at Cuninghams Guest house. The Island is lovely and safe and close to the centre of town.Our room was very spacious and clean.There is an honesty bar which was most welcome after a day of sightseeing, and a pool for a refreshing dip. Preston was most helpful in recommending local attractions and restaurants, and my husband had great chats with Tim about the local area and Wilbur Smith as they are both fans! My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer in this lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review.
I certainly hope that your husband's book makes more sense now that he has seen the area.
Warm wishes from Knysna
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
The Knysna Belle
The Knysna Belle
#34 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leisure Isle Lodge
Leisure Isle Lodge
#23 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#17 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Turning Tides B&B
Turning Tides B&B
#74 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#14 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon House
Beacon House
#14 of 102 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuningham's Island Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuningham's Island Guest House

Property: Cuningham's Island Guest House
Address: 3 Kingsway | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuningham's Island Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuningham's is located on safe & tranquil Leisure Isle close to three golf courses & Knysna's only beach. Set in a well established garden filled with the sound of birds guests can either laze around the large swimming pool or walk to the beach. Being centrally located on the Garden Route makes Cuningham's the ideal place from which to explore the many sites & activities that the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cuningham's Island Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing