We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #5 of 157 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Olive Tree Restaurant Trading hours; Dinners only, Monday to Saturdays in Season> from 6.30pm till kitchen close at 9pm.
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The guesthouse that we stayed had recommended this restaurant for a lovely meal. It was recommended that we book. We were not disappointed. We had a warm welcome and the owner went through the menu with great detail. Our only challenge was to choose an actual dish as she made each dish sound so mouthwatering.

The food was really delicious and the serving staff were friendly and efficient. The restaurant had a warm, intimate cozy atmosphere.

We would highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    223
    50
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Good food , great staeks and curry , powerful front of house madam! dont let her scare you! good wine list and very very busy , the lamb is excellent and so are the local dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent experience at a great price.

We'd heard the vegetarian dishes were great but the night we went there were only two veg options and they didn't sound especially exciting.

We started with the Olive Tree's unique take on spring rolls - unlike any you have had before and full of flavour. They suggested we share one plate between two but we wished we'd had a plate each in hindsight.

For main I had a most tender steak and my partner had chicken with a feta filling which she loved.

We were pleasantly surprised when the bill came - it was excellent value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcfb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The food here was very good, it's a cosy place and very friendly. They had good veggie options and the menu was on a blackboard on wheels. Booking is essential as this is a very popular restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rina214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Six of us were fortunate enough to be able to eat here. We all had excellent food and I had the best steak ever, and I have been to the best all over the world.
Friendly host with a great atmosphere although I had to shut the window to stop the cold draught (sorry, private joke).
If you get the chance don't miss eating here you won't be disappointed.
Ps, not that it makes any difference, it was the least expensive of all our meals during our 2 week holiday (£17 per head with lots of vino including 15% tip) and by far the best

Helpful?
Thank green91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing