We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant with wide variety of food”
Review of 34 South

34 South
Ranked #14 of 164 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Not exactly a restaurant... Not exactly a bar... Definitely not a deli... Well, not exactly a deli... It's an eating place, a drinking place and definitely a meeting place. And it's a gift shop, a clothing emporium, a food store, a fish monger and a bakery, too. And the finest wine shop this side of the grape curtain. And it's always on one, single line of latitude - the 34th parallel (but only on the Waterfront at the Knysna Quays).
Knysna
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with wide variety of food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went there on the last day of the Knysna Festival, and my friends wanted their last share of oysters before returning home. Between our table we had oysters (I had the blue cheese ones, which were delicious but some were terribly small, and only made me hungry for more), pizzas and a kingklip espetada. Everyone said the pizzas were great and my espetada was tasty although slightly dry! A lovely restaurant with a great menu and we managed to watch the first half of the Soccer World Cup Final there before going home to watch the second half.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    808
    283
    120
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sushi & seafood is fantastic”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have been to 34 Degrees South a number of times and have never been disappointed. We went during the Oyster Festival in July and eventually ended up at our favorite place having lunch. Apart from the inconsiderate group with about 10 children who thought they had to upset all the other patrons by being loud and boisterous and encouraging their kids to throw tantrums, WE HAD A GREAT MEAL AND THE SERVICE WAS GREAT. We luckily moved from the outdoor seating to the inside but we watched the other unsuspecting people through the window and everyone was astounded by the behavior. We felt sorry for the staff. Why do people think it is their right to behave badly and annoy people who want to have lunch with their family. We had the Sushi for the first time and it was the best I have ever eaten. Well done to management and staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but wine prices a rip!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

:-)
We had an enjoyable meal with friendly efficient service and a pleasant atmosphere.
Food is a bit on the expensive side but very tasty and good value if you're not a budget traveller. They have a great kids menu and the sushi was really good too!
:-|
Restaurant feels a little grubby... could do with a good scrub.. but we were there at the end of a very busy week on a Sunday night so possibly not always so.
:-( WINE....
UNFORTUNATELY the wine menu is grossly overpriced and the MCC(South Africas champagne
equivalent) is horribly expensive in comparison to Cape Town and Joburg restaurants...
this was disappointing as it was Oyster Festival so one expected to have Oysters and "Champayne", but left feeling a bit ripped off!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Notch Above”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A party of 5 went to 34 South In Knysna, South Africa this summer (their winter). The service was GREAT!!! The waiter, Sash, was friendly, pleasant, helpful, and professional. They were busy, but we never felt neglected or rushed. He also gave us hints on other great places for the rest of our trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visited 34 South as a family with teenagers. We had a great meal consisting of calamari, oysters, fresh line fish and paela. All the food was very good and the atmosphere special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacques_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 34 South also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to 34 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing