We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place”
Review of Island Vibe Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Vibe Knysna
Ranked #28 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Really nice and helpfull staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice braai facilities and really good WiFi! Perfect place to hang out and to explore the Garden Route. I'll definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

A nice and clean budget hostel. The staff members are amazing and really helpful with everything from booking day activities to making reservations for your journey.

Only stayed in the dorms and they were clean and had private lockers which was good. The hostel has a bar and good kitchen facilities. Just make sure your room isn't to close to the bar if you like to go to bed early, since the music can be a bit to loud then.

Location is great, only a short walk away from waterfront or the main street. Island Vibe really has a great atmosphere and I'd love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cajsa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Island Vibe in Knysna was the perfect spot for us to be at that time. The staff (Rob en Bev) are just amazing, helpful at anytime and great people to spend a night at the cozy bar with. This in combination with the clean kitchen, dorms and facilities, a fire every night to cook "braai"... make it to be one of the best backpackers we've stayed in on our 5-weeks trip. Be careful not to jump over the pool though =). Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinfromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed at Island Vibe for 2 night. At that time I didn't make a travel plan enough in Southafrica. But the staff helped me friendly, and guided me, booked me for everything. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. They have good kitchen.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ksc6836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Friendly staff, great central location and good prices make this a very good choice for budget accommodation. A fire was prepared everyday making for a cozy winter. Excellent, off beat, original tours are well worth it too. Staff keep things relaxed and fun; even took the guests out on the town which was a whole load of fun!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _jusko_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This place had the potential to be good, however it was plagued with non-cheerful staff and a bunch of local idiots who basically hung out there and took up all of the facilities and bothered most everyone there.

I would not recommend, and just keep passing through. The island vibe in Jefferey's Baii, that is another story, a GREAT one.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was a door room right by the main area, it was loud as anything. However if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe215ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

i never felt so welcome in a backpackers!!!had a nice and clean double room en suite, short walking distances to the waterfront and everything u need. the staff makes lekker braai (!) and helps with everything u need...i had a great (but too short) time at island vibe!thanks bev and craig!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#26 of 107 in Knysna
100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#37 of 129 in Knysna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lagoon lodge
Lagoon lodge
#40 of 129 in Knysna
106 reviews
13.8 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 22 in Sedgefield
267 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#14 of 129 in Knysna
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £8 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing