We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel”
Review of Island Vibe Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Vibe Knysna
Ranked #31 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had an awesome time in this hostel, great employees and management. Had a really fun time over there, rooms were fine. We organized a beer pong tournament with the hostel and we just had a great time overall, was a crazy night for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We are so glad you had a good time at Island Vibe!
We hope you return soon for more beerpong!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We are a family who needed cheap accommodation .it was cheap but as they say pay for what you get. It was not the cleanness place and no towels.I understand it is a backpackers but with a couple of kids who wants to travel with wet towels .Other backpackers we stayed at happily gave towles for a small deposit .the place was so noisy .once again I understand it is a back packer but even security could not control the party goers at 3 am and they ended up locking them in the room for for the rest of the night as they kept coming and going to their rooms banging doors and being really loud .
The parking is limited .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

I am so sorry that your stay was not up to standard. We have addressed your concerns with the staff and sincerely apologize for the problems you faced. We hope that you will return in the future for a relaxing and enjoyable time.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Island vibe has a good reputation mainly based on their sister-hostel in Jeffrey's bay. We were slightly disappointed by the facilities, e.g. the basement dorm felt a bit cold/damp and the reception staff didn't seem too friendly or informed. The location was ok and there was a secure car park. The receptionist and the locals somewhat took over the pool table in the evening but the bar was fun enough. Might be a better backpackers in Knysna but this was acceptable for us. The swimming pool was out of action when we were there but given it was S.A. winter that may be the reason.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

We apologize for the not-up-to-standard stay you experienced at Island Vibe. Unfortunately, winter is the best time to fix our swimming pool, and we apologize that it coincided with your stay. We have addressed the issues with our staff and hope you come back soon for a great stay!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I might have caught them at a very busy time since it was the oyster festival- non the less, we had a very pleasant stay at island vibe. Our room was clean and so was the bathroom facilities. For the price we paid a actual tap instead of a shower head would have been nice. Also, the layout of the house/bar/dorms/parking is very unusual. Above else, we received great service from the staff and nothing to complain about. Nice, uneventfull stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Good day!
We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay at Island Vibe, despite it being busy. The house you stayed in is a newly acquired addition to Island Vibe - we will be renovating certain areas to maintain our standards. We apologize if your stay was not up to standard. We hope you visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed at the hostel for two nights in june. Because of the off-season there isn't much to do in Knysna, but you can book trips through the hostel. I got a discount since it's winter time. I went on a hiking trip through the Kranshoek trail and also to Knysna heads. I really recommend it, and their in-house guide, Orin, knows everything there is to know about the nature and environment in and around Knysna. I slept in a 6-beds dorm and that was alright except that is was really cold at night. Besides that they have lockers in the room, and also free Wi-Fi that is quite quick. If you don't have your own computer with you you can use one of the computers that are in the lounge. The staff are down to earth and you may end up partying with them. Every night they make a fire outside by the pool where you can braai (barbeque) your own food.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank Hege-Katrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The dorm was fine, especially considering the relatively low price. Also, staff was awesome, very down to earth and helpfull. But what made our stay memorable is the township/rastafari-community tour with their in-house guide, Orin. He is an awesome tourguide, who knew the answers to all of our questions and knew how to keep us interested throughout the whole tour.
After he took us to see the Knysna Heads (with a beautiful ocean view), he took us to the Knysna township and gave us plenty of information about the history and the way people live.
The tour included a visit to the Rastafari-community, where some locals introduced us to their way of living, and performed some of their music for us.

All together we enjoyed our stay at Island vibe and hope to be able to visit again some time.

Room Tip: Do the townshiptour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Found Island Vibe whilst touring round SA by motorcycle with 2 friends from UK. It was about the best place we stayed at, great staff, clean & friendly. Thanks Bev, will be back for sure.
Richard Ayerst.

Room Tip: Just ask Beverly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardayerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
1.8 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#37 of 127 in Knysna
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
52 on Main
52 on Main
#52 of 107 in Knysna
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 127 in Knysna
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 127 in Knysna
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#25 of 107 in Knysna
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £8 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing