We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostal in central location”
Review of Island Vibe Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Vibe Knysna
Ranked #28 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Island Vibe is located in central Knysna, the private rooms are big and nicly decorated. The staff is very helpful. The hostal is not to big and has nice common areas (incl. billard and kicker), so it is easy to come in contact with other travellers. Every eve (depending on the weather) there is the possibility to make barbeque ("braai"). The place undergoes currently some renovations of the public areas, afterwards it will be even nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peacock-Frankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Good day!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise for any inconvenience while the renovations were taking place. Please come and visit us again to enjoy the improvements!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

While this may not be the biggest backpackers in the "Island Vibe" group, it is by far the BEST! Located right on Main Street, it's right around the corner from the supermarket and about a 5-10 minute walk to the main shops and restaurants at the Quay. The staff is super friendly and the in-house tour guide Oren is knowledgeable and willing to arrange any excursions you might be interested in (when you first arrive, he invites you on a FREE tour up to the Knysna Heads-- just make sure you tip him!!) After Bev, Island Vibe Knysna's cool front desk clerk, checks you in, you get a quick tour of the place then hit the bar for some good cheap drinks. Come night time, Adiel (I'm pretty sure that's his name) gets the fire going for a great braai and he'll probably challenge you to do a cannonball into the pool-- DO IT!! All the rooms are clean, and I watched them strip the beds after each guest checked out (I can't say the same for some of the other backpackers I stayed in on this trip). The kitchen is small, but big enough for a backpackers of this size, and you can sit outside with your coffee if the weather is nice or enjoy your breakfast on a large family-style dining room table (just don't try and move it because it took six of us to get it down the stairs!!) Overall, I stayed at backpackers from Cape Town to Jeffrey's Bay and this was easily my favorite one. Hope to see you guys again some day!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terpsfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Good day!

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope you come and stay again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The staff is nice ..good location near the waterfront...you can meet a lot of others person from the rest of the world around a barbecue or in the pool but better on december :-P ..a lot of activities and tours.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missybouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Good day!

We are glad that your enjoyed your stay and barbecue! Please come and visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hostel is good placed in Main Street, not far from bars and pubs.
If there is good weather- just jump into the pool and have barbecue with the other travelers..
Shower is hot and everything is clean enough to feel comfortable :)
The best thing: you get insider information for what you can do and the staff has an advice for the best township tour you can do!!!!
The drinks in the bar are cheap, so good start to go out afterwords.. :)

Room Tip: The dorms are great:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Good day!

It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us! You are welcome to visit us again anytime - hopefully soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Excellent service, good staff, very friendly, security very good, parking very secure. Walking distance to all amenities. Good value for money too. I sleepy in a very clean dorm, perfect toilets, very clean bending.

Room Tip: Perfect location for everything you need to do in Knysna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KaburaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Good day, Alain!
Thank you for your great review! We are so happy you had such a great stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We didn't like this place at all. Our bed stinks, the bathroom was dirty and there is just no atmosphere. It was rainy during our stay so maybe it is better when the sun is shining. I liked the guy who is working at the reception by the way. He was kind and although it was raining he braaied for us!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kees123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Good day! We are deeply sorry about your experience. We are graded 4-star, and have been for consecutive years. We try to live up to this standard, but we obviously did not during your stay. We sincerely apologise and hope that you will return soon to experience our 4-star reputation!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hey guys. We stopped over in Knysna for 2 nights in July. I was traveling with my 3 girls, which can be a challenge. When we checked in at Island Vibe Bev advised us where to go and what to do. Also, the safety talk was great. We were told where to walk during the day and where not to at night. We booked into the house which was great because we had the place to ourselves and felt like we were in a home away from home. The house had the comforts that a family or group would look for. We were taken on a tour of the Knysna Heads which was great. Orin was very informative on the tour. The Bar and outside area is nice and social and we got to meet other people from around the world. I can really recommend Island Vibe. Great value for money. Well done team!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Good day, Dallas!

We are so glad you had a great time at Island Vibe! Please come and visit us again for more in-house tours and a drink at the bar!
We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#27 of 107 in Knysna
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lagoon lodge
Lagoon lodge
#37 of 129 in Knysna
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 22 in Sedgefield
270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#38 of 129 in Knysna
156 reviews
3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 107 in Knysna
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £16 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing