We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alexander Boutique Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$212
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russel Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
334
23
3
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
23
3
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal suitechauffeur serviceour honeymoonguest housecomplimentary shuttleamber roomprivate deckknysna headsattention to detailcaptains suitethe penthouseindian oceanoyster roomrose petalshot tubdinner recommendationsplunge pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The setting on The Heads is breathtaking and although the weather was atrocious the rooms were excellent which allowed us to enjoy our stay nonetheless. The staff were friendly and always gave us good recommendations. Will definitely stay again...

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Devashin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

”Excellence is an art won by training and habituation. We do not act rightly because we have virtue or excellence, but we rather have those because we have acted rightly. We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit.” --Aristotle

Thank you Wayne, Monica, Willie, Memory and all the staff for spoiling us on our 25th anniversary! With your help we've created memories that will last a lifetime! Every little detail, your gift of bubbly and a snack basket, the beautiful and elegant surroundings - what a privilege and pleasure! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Marius & Anneke Kotze

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0502A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

We ended of our honeymoon at this prime establishment. From the moment we arrived and Willie and Wayne greeted us with a welcome, until the moment we left the next morning, everything was perfect. Wayne is the perfect host, and Cedric was very helpful in all aspects and giving advice on where to go for dinner. Top class stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacoBrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Alexander and we will never forget the great hospitallity and friendly staff. We really felt at home. After some booking problems between the travelagency and the owner (Wayne) we got a very warm welcome. Wayne offered us the Captains suite which is very beautifful with a nice bathroom and all the comfort you can imagine.
Cedric was also very friendly en brought us every evening to the restaurants and after diner he was there to pick us up. Always with the same good mood. Breakfast was brilliant with everything you want and served by the lovely Memory with a big smile.
Also the views on the terras are awesome.
Now we are back in Belgium but we know we will go back!
Don't hesitate if you are searching for a perfect and honest guesthouse in Knysna : take the Alexander!
Marc & Vera

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sturke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My new husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Alexander as part of our honeymoon. From the moment we walked in it was amazing. Everything was perfect but what stood out the most for us was the excellent service. All staff members including the owner, Wayne made sure that we receive personal attention and went the extra mile when we invited some friends over for a BBQ. The routine services also include a personal chauffeur (Cedric) taking you to restaurants of your choice in the evenings. We have travelled to various countries and exotic islands, including Bali where we stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels and resorts. The Alexander experience was the best ever!!!!!
Thanx for making our honeymoon so special Wayne. Ian and Amanda from Aus :-)

Room Tip: Royal Honeymoon Suite on the top floor with a jacuzzi on the deck. No noise and very private.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews