We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view to wake up to”
Review of Head Over Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Head Over Hills
Ranked #8 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Whilst driving up the Heads, Lovey pointed to a white building and said: I hope we get to stay there. (As this was a surprise gift he had no idea where I was taking him) The moment we drove through the gates his face lighted up and we stood in the car park area and just took in the amazing view. Sara is an amazing host and was friendly and efficient throughout our entire stay. Every small detail in Head over Hills is taken care of and it looks and feels like a very well furnished and beautiful home away from home. We enjoyed our stay immensely, from having welcome drinks served in the Jacuzzi to having a hearty breakfast prepared by friendly staff each morning. The rooms are kept in an immaculate state and I loved the awesome touches like the over sized rubber duck in the tub. We will be returning hopefully within the next year to this amazing place. Loved everything except having to leave at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Viewpoint room has a fantastic view of both the cliffs and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandiAndLovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

A delightful and cosy establishment. Fantastic views,friendly and courteous staff, clean setup that is maintained throughout your stay. The manageress, Sara, is a great source of local knowledge and extremely helpful. 5 star rating all around. We will be back soon!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The lady that met us somehow knew our names. Talk about personalised service. Such friendly staff. The place is really amazing - it is really hard to leave to go explore other places in Knysna. Stunning views.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola230681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Just came back from 2 nights stay. Host Sara was friendly and helpful. The Dolphin room we stayed was clean although not huge but just enough for two people. Great view from room and ground floor has a swimming pool and a jacuzzi over look The Head and the ocean. Over all, great stay! Would go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We bought a voucher (half price) for this fantastic 5 Star B& B on the Knysna Heads. Magnificent views, comfy bed, beautifully decorated rooms, all those added extras which really make it special. Delicious breakfast cooked by the friendly kitchen staff. But what made this place most memorable was Sara. A warm, friendly, welcoming host - who really went out of her way to make sure we had a comfortable stay. Thank you Sara - we will very definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in teh Viewpoint Room - but all the rooms have an unrestricted view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

WOW!!! From the moment we arrive at this Stunning 5 Star Villas me and my wife was so welcomed !!! We spent only 2 Nites, but is was worth every minute of relaxing, forget about everything, enjoy a cocktail, either on the balcony with a stunning view or next to the pool, overlooking the ocean. (The Stunning View) The Dolphin room is Stunning!!! We were welcome by Sara and her Staff!! Sara is a wonderfull Hostess, booking a dinner at Mo 's was just what this Boertjie needed!!! Tasty Spareribs!!
A place to remember and to be reommended!!!

Room Tip: The Captains room and View Point!! all these rooms have stunning views of the Ocean and Lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeO988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

What a beautiful establishment with the most spectacular views! The service is absolutely first class and we were made to feel special from the minute we walked through the door. We were served drinks on the deck where there is a beautiful rim-flow pool and a Jacuzzi. The sound of the sea and the views are unbelievable. The rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated and the view from our balcony was amazing. To sit outside in the evening just taking in the sounds of the sea and gazing at the stars was so special. We will be back...

Room Tip: The corner room has the best views - over the sea and into the Knysna Heads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
0.2 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#18 of 30 in Knysna
37 reviews
1.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
826 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
18.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
563 reviews
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Head Over Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Head Over Hills

Address: 22 Glen View Road | Coney Glen, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £206 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Head Over Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Head over Hills is a unique luxury retreat situated on the beautiful edge of the iconic Knysna heads. Our luxury accommodation and world-class views are the perfect backdrop to a well-deserved getaway, honeymoon or to simply take in the splendor of our naturally beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Head Over Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing