We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor money value”
Review of Protea Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protea Guest House
Ranked #102 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Ushuaia, Argentina
Level Contributor
263 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Poor money value”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We lodge here for a night and run away (we did not like Knysna because it is very noisy, live and chaotic). Units are inside a flourishing, humid garden. The best is the veranda, beds are of poor quality, TV did not work, but the worst, the really worst thing is the smallest bathroom I had in my life, even onboard ships I had larger bathrooms than this (probably the exact width to pass your shoulders). We got better lodgments in the Garden Route for the same price!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro_USH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protea7, Owner at Protea Guest House, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
I just want to respond to the 2 negative comments above. The over grown garden .... The town of Knysna is situated in the the Sitsikamma Forrest. My property is in the older suburbs, the grounds are quite large and between me and my neighbor at the back is still part of indigenous Forrest, you can't see the 2 houses from each other's property. What I thought is actually wonderful, that is why their is so many birds in the garden. I try after this comment to keep the trees cut down that the view is unobstructed. Concerning the breakfast, this person is the 1st person in the 13 years who did not liked the breakfast. The other guests are very happy about it, if you can see the remarks in the visitor's books. They love to eat it in privacy, and as the cottages are serviced, they don't have to wash the dishes. Cold food.... no we warm up the bowls before dishing up the eggs and bacon, then it is put in a very thick like "stocking" to keep it warm. In the visitors books about everybody comment on how clean the place is, I had never anybody complained about the cleanliness of the cottages. Cobwebs, yes it is sometimes a problem because we live in a forest, but we take extra care to remove it regularly,
it is also really not that bad. But we will take notice of everything said.
My bathrooms are small that I apologize for. If you are a nature lover you will love it, if you prefer concrete and tar you won't like it. This suburb is called Paradise, that speaks for it self.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Level Contributor
170 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The guesthouse has 3 self catering units for hire which also includes breakfast. Given the rates you pay, you'd be forgiven for thinking that you should have been staying in at least a 3* hotel. We were very confused by the positive things written by other writers.

The units are located in the middle of their overgrown garden - which is pretty cool - however the same overgrowth has obstructed the view of the lagoon and all you can see are glimpses. The unit we stayed in was not clean at all and felt as though it had been unoccupied for some time - several cobwebs, dust everywhere and mouldy bathrooms to name a few examples. Most of the socket fittings are out of date and are either not working or too dangerous to be used. Breakfast was a really sorry state. Breakfast is served at your units and unfortunately by the time you get it, it is pretty cold. Breakfast is rationed with a bit of muesli, two slices of toast and a single egg. The juice is served with ants. Do not stay here - even if this is the last resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashah_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We were recommended this guest house by a friend and we were defiantly not disappointed and I would highly recommend this guest house. We stayed in a 2 bedroom wooden cottage and every morning we were served breakfast on the patio looking out at the Knysna lagoon. The location and views are perfect and hosts/ staff very friendly. All in all a great stay and hopefully will return someday soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surrey_UKSca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

If you are after a hidden, peacefuly retreat - this is the place.

We stayed in a one bedroom wooden chalet = perched high above Knysna Lagoon with fantastic views.

Large spacious, comfortable room, small bathroom - but adequate, Kitchen area - with basic facilities. Only downside may be chilly in the middle of winter.

Very helpful and friendly owner - offering tips and things to see and do in the area.

Breakfast is brought and delivered to your chalet to eat on the balcony - slightly on the small side - with juice, bacon, eggs, jam, bread and cereal.

For the price, location and views would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank K1000M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

This was our second stay at the Protea. We choose the accommodation because of it's quiet location and superb views over the lagoon. On both occasions we stayed in the two bedded chalet which has a large wooden deck where a substantial breakfast is served each morning. Each chalet has a car parking space. The 2 bedded chalet has several steps leading up to it, a thing to bear in mind for those less mobile. Overall accommodation has everything you need for a relaxing stay. For an all round stay the Protea Guest House would be hard to beat

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wteeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

We stayed here for just 2 nights but wished it was for longer. The accommodation was first class. Our host “Adri” was extremely helpful and friendly, the breakfast on our verandah was super.
We will return for a longer stay.

Mary & Brian Boor, Essex, England

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank charliesbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

If you are looking for privacy in a subtropcal garden next to the Indian Ocean along the Garden Route - you will find it at the Protea House in Knysna.

It is located in the oldern part of Knysna, up the hill... with a wonderful view towards the Indian Ocean, three chalets are surrounded by subtropical plants with a wooden verandah where you will get a delicious homemade breakfast.

The chalets have few bedrooms, a full equipped kitchen with a launch.

  • Liked — View and privacy
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisBerlinBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellowwood Lodge
Yellowwood Lodge
#24 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.3 mi away
Four on Faure
Four on Faure
#15 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hamilton Manor
Hamilton Manor
#25 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Idle Monkey
Idle Monkey
#53 of 126 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Guest House

Property: Protea Guest House
Address: 7 Protea St, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tropical garden with abundant bird life in a quiet lane. We are a full bed and breakfast with a self catering option. The timber cottages have lovely views over the lagoon. Winding stairs lead to three separate cottages, each with a private sun deck and barbecue facilities. Well equipped kitchenettes offer a self-catering option. Breakfast is served on your own sun deck. Walking distance to town center and restaurants. Laundry and e-mail facilities available. Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Protea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing