We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a piece of heaven in the middle of the jungle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protea Guest House
Ranked #103 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a piece of heaven in the middle of the jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

one of the more beautiful B&B we encountered along our trip with a real jungle feeling and a private breakfast that is served on a porch overlooking the lagoon.
We received a very warm welcome from the owner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I am a tour guide and whenever I overnight in Knysna, I personally stay with Adri in Protea Guest House each and every time.
Paradise, one of Knysna oldests neighbourhoods, offers a really peaceful stay with lovely overgrown forest-like gardens filled with birdlife, giving one an idea of what it must have been like in the early days.
Each cottage offers great views over the Lagoon below with simple, clean & comfortable accommodation of a 3 star standard.
See you next week Adri x

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank African_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed for a couple of days in Protea Guest House and were given the Loeri lodge. This one of three completely separated from each other units and has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Ideal for four people to stay there. Large livingroom annex fully equipped kitchen for self catering.
We were there on a Bed and Breakfast arrangement and every morning, on the dot, Daniel, one of the kind staff members, climbed the stairs to our unit with a basket full of the ordered eggs, bread, orangje juice and marmelade. Under good weather conditions having your breakfast on the woorden deck, with a great view was a splendid start of the day. Cleaning of the unit is fine.Towel change each day. Adri, the owner has got some great tips for nice things to do and see in Knysna, the Heads, Leisure Island and Brenton on Sea. Also her suggestions for restaurants of your likings are great. A few things to bear in mind. There is free wifi in the main house. If you are lucky you can use wifi inside the unit, otherwise you have to move a bit closer to the router. When we were there some furniture on the wooden deck and the deck itself needed attention from a carpenter for some minor maintenance. There is a very good and fast laundry service available and if your car needs washing, suprise Daniel with a box of sweets (after the job has been done) and he will gladly do an excellent cleaning job for you. We enjoyed our stay with Adri very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwinTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here and cannot find a bad word to say about all aspects. Ardri and her staff are very hospitable and the rooms are clean and well serviced. I particularly enjoyed the feeling of being part of the forest and a bonus was the breakfast delivery. I am surprised by the negative comments - a couple perpetual complainers methinks. Alejandro should be thankful the tv didn't work - SA television programs are appalling. All in all a pleasing and tranquil stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken FF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this guest house. After the first night we commented to the owner that the mattress was a bit soft. She promptly went out and brought a new mattress and we had a very comfortable sleep after that. We loved the breakfast delivered to the room that you could eat at your own pace and in private. The unit was well catered with all you need in a self catered kitchen. We saved money by cooking all our dinners there which was great. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room smelt like it needed a bit of air but other than that, we were happy.

Room Tip: We had the Suikerbossie room and enjoyed it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ushuaia, Argentina
Level Contributor
253 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We lodge here for a night and run away (we did not like Knysna because it is very noisy, live and chaotic). Units are inside a flourishing, humid garden. The best is the veranda, beds are of poor quality, TV did not work, but the worst, the really worst thing is the smallest bathroom I had in my life, even onboard ships I had larger bathrooms than this (probably the exact width to pass your shoulders). We got better lodgments in the Garden Route for the same price!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro_USH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protea7, Owner at Protea Guest House, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
I just want to respond to the 2 negative comments above. The over grown garden .... The town of Knysna is situated in the the Sitsikamma Forrest. My property is in the older suburbs, the grounds are quite large and between me and my neighbor at the back is still part of indigenous Forrest, you can't see the 2 houses from each other's property. What I thought is actually wonderful, that is why their is so many birds in the garden. I try after this comment to keep the trees cut down that the view is unobstructed. Concerning the breakfast, this person is the 1st person in the 13 years who did not liked the breakfast. The other guests are very happy about it, if you can see the remarks in the visitor's books. They love to eat it in privacy, and as the cottages are serviced, they don't have to wash the dishes. Cold food.... no we warm up the bowls before dishing up the eggs and bacon, then it is put in a very thick like "stocking" to keep it warm. In the visitors books about everybody comment on how clean the place is, I had never anybody complained about the cleanliness of the cottages. Cobwebs, yes it is sometimes a problem because we live in a forest, but we take extra care to remove it regularly,
it is also really not that bad. But we will take notice of everything said.
My bathrooms are small that I apologize for. If you are a nature lover you will love it, if you prefer concrete and tar you won't like it. This suburb is called Paradise, that speaks for it self.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level Contributor
170 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

The guesthouse has 3 self catering units for hire which also includes breakfast. Given the rates you pay, you'd be forgiven for thinking that you should have been staying in at least a 3* hotel. We were very confused by the positive things written by other writers.

The units are located in the middle of their overgrown garden - which is pretty cool - however the same overgrowth has obstructed the view of the lagoon and all you can see are glimpses. The unit we stayed in was not clean at all and felt as though it had been unoccupied for some time - several cobwebs, dust everywhere and mouldy bathrooms to name a few examples. Most of the socket fittings are out of date and are either not working or too dangerous to be used. Breakfast was a really sorry state. Breakfast is served at your units and unfortunately by the time you get it, it is pretty cold. Breakfast is rationed with a bit of muesli, two slices of toast and a single egg. The juice is served with ants. Do not stay here - even if this is the last resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashah_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Four on Faure
Four on Faure
#17 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
0.2 mi away
Paradise Found
Paradise Found
#22 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guinea Fowl Lodge
Guinea Fowl Lodge
#58 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Heads
Paradise Heads
#70 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knysna Inn
Knysna Inn
#41 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Guest House

Property: Protea Guest House
Address: 7 Protea St, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tropical garden with abundant bird life in a quiet lane. We are a full bed and breakfast with a self catering option. The timber cottages have lovely views over the lagoon. Winding stairs lead to three separate cottages, each with a private sun deck and barbecue facilities. Well equipped kitchenettes offer a self-catering option. Breakfast is served on your own sun deck. Walking distance to town center and restaurants. Laundry and e-mail facilities available. Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Protea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing