We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil and fantastic value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protea Guest House
Ranked #103 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tranquil and fantastic value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the two bed cottage with the B & B option. Clean rooms, comfy beds, beautiful views over the lagoon and towards the Heads. Friendly service and a lovely breakfast to start the day. Highly recommended and great value.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in two rooms, each room was set up for s/c, we opted for B&B, large rooms both with a deck with a beautiful view of the Lagoon. The site is elevated and therefore you need to be able to climb stairs, the gardens are full of birds and plants that are indigenous to ZA. The owner is friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome, overall it was great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPE TOWN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

My sister in law (from the UK) and I stayed at Protea Guest House for 3 nights and can really recommend it. It was good value for money. The view from the balcony of the lagoon and causeway is incredible and we really liked the 'jungle' setting and the birds. The balcony had lounging chairs which were very comfortable. It was very peaceful and the studio room was well equipped. Adri was a good host and we will certainly stay at the guest house again when we return to Knysna.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLARIBELCAPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

My Dad and I stayed at Protea Guest House for 5 nights in January and we were very impressed with both the location  and setting of the guest house. We stayed in the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom cottage which had stunning views over the Knysna Heads and lagoon.

Although the cottage is equipped for self catering, we stayed on a b&b basis. Breakfast was brought to the cottage each morning and set up outside on the massive deck where we could relax and enjoy the view.

The cottage had a lovely homely feel and we were warmly welcomed by Adri and her team. Our 5 days stay was so relaxing I felt as if I had been on holiday for a week. I would have no hesitation in recommending Adri's guest house and I will definitely be staying there myself for my next trip to Knysna!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoSushine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

It was great experience thanks to hospitality of our host, Adri and the team. Rooms are super clean and cosy. The view from balconies is amazing. It was such a pleasure to have a breakfast and watch the Knysna lagoon while eating. The garden is very nice and it is full of birds. Location is very good. Everything is in place. You can even find an oil lamp, which makes evening table very romantic, an iron and a hairdryer. I, my wife, and our friends will remember our stay at Protea Guest House for a long time. Definitely coming back!

Room Tip: Both single cottages are very nice but Suikerbekkie has got bigger table on its balcony. So it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ma96im
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Excellent accommodation in beautiful chalet with great view over the Knysna lagoon. Luscious garden with many birds. Enjoy a nice breakfast served on you balcony. Friendly host and staff. Great value for money. Highly recommended. Marius

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Cute little cabin with a glorious view of the Knysna Lagoon. Breakfast on the patio (provided by Protea House) was amazing. Perfect location near the waterfront and the main area of town. Friendly staff. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Four on Faure
Four on Faure
#17 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
0.2 mi away
Paradise Found
Paradise Found
#21 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guinea Fowl Lodge
Guinea Fowl Lodge
#58 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Heads
Paradise Heads
#69 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knysna Inn
Knysna Inn
#41 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Guest House

Property: Protea Guest House
Address: 7 Protea St, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tropical garden with abundant bird life in a quiet lane. We are a full bed and breakfast with a self catering option. The timber cottages have lovely views over the lagoon. Winding stairs lead to three separate cottages, each with a private sun deck and barbecue facilities. Well equipped kitchenettes offer a self-catering option. Breakfast is served on your own sun deck. Walking distance to town center and restaurants. Laundry and e-mail facilities available. Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Protea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing