We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy Get-Away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protea Guest House
Ranked #103 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Get-Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Me and my girlfriend went to the Suiker Bekkie cottage for the Knysna Oyster Festival weekend. It is a cosy little cottage and just enough for the two of us. Do not expect your 70" Samsung Flat screen or your double door fridge. This is very good value for money, well situated and close to the Knysna waterfront. Actually walking distance. It must be said that it is incredibly cold this time of year and enough warm clothes should be taken. The bed does have a electric blanket and the cottage does have a heater but not really enough to keep you warm. Overall the view is excellent and it is very relaxing. You also get breakfast which is a bonus. I would recommend this to any couple.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WRVermaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

this guest house looks nothing like the pictures ,we had booked two nights stayed one ,the whole place is best described as tired ,there is no off road parking ,breakfast served to your room is basic to say the least ,also no wi fi ,as for t v channels s a b c 1 2 3 only ,who even watches that channels .We were there just a couple of weeks ago when very cold ,if you go in summer you might be able to accept it for what it is a basic B & B ,we did not book because was cheaper than anywhere else ,we booked as trip adviser gave it a good review ,dose anyone from trip adviser go round checking before they accept them on their site ,that I would like to know.

Room Tip: I would say if you go off season don't book ahead ,rather go to the tourist information who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gmcgregordurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We spent 4 days. Absolutely lovely cottage. perfectly serviced and the breakfast was the perfect start to our day. Great value! The owner was very friendly and it was perfectly located for trips to Knysna and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Excellent accommodation with great view over the Knysna lagoon, very clean and comfortable. As my daughter said " a fantastic tree-house" Enjoy a lovely breakfast served on you balcony. Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74BarbaraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Wonderful atmosphere. Charming host with nice cooked breakfast each morning. Nothing is too troublesome. Bed is comfortable. Nice base to be if you want to explore Kynesna.
Bed is very comfortable.We had a nice time destressing ourselves in a tranquil environment.

Room Tip: The 1st cottage has a good view. All the rooms are very spacious. There are steps to climb so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clearmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the two bed cottage with the B & B option. Clean rooms, comfy beds, beautiful views over the lagoon and towards the Heads. Friendly service and a lovely breakfast to start the day. Highly recommended and great value.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in two rooms, each room was set up for s/c, we opted for B&B, large rooms both with a deck with a beautiful view of the Lagoon. The site is elevated and therefore you need to be able to climb stairs, the gardens are full of birds and plants that are indigenous to ZA. The owner is friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome, overall it was great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Four on Faure
Four on Faure
#17 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
0.2 mi away
Paradise Found
Paradise Found
#22 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guinea Fowl Lodge
Guinea Fowl Lodge
#58 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Heads
Paradise Heads
#70 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knysna Inn
Knysna Inn
#41 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Guest House

Property: Protea Guest House
Address: 7 Protea St, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tropical garden with abundant bird life in a quiet lane. We are a full bed and breakfast with a self catering option. The timber cottages have lovely views over the lagoon. Winding stairs lead to three separate cottages, each with a private sun deck and barbecue facilities. Well equipped kitchenettes offer a self-catering option. Breakfast is served on your own sun deck. Walking distance to town center and restaurants. Laundry and e-mail facilities available. Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Protea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing